garrrrrrrrrr!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Garrrrrr! (that's pirate for good day!)

I just spent two great days and nights sailing round the Whitsundays! We were in a 83ft ex round the world maxi yacht called British Defender. We had mixed weather but we made the most of it and I met some lovely people. The sleeping arrangements were very open so we all had to get used to each other pretty quickly! We had three good sessions of snorkeling and I saw so many beautiful and different fish, no turtles though 😞

On the down side we couldn't shower so there were 32 stinking bodies on the boat by the end! Also it decided to piss it down when we were walking to Whitehaven Beach but kindly eased off a little for some photos to be taken! On the plus side, the food was out of this world, I don't know how they did it in such a cramped space with the boat on such a ridiculously steep angle!

Before I set off on my trip I arrived at my hostel here in Airlie and kind of fell in love with it! It's quiet and family run and a 25 minute walk to town along a coastal path. Everyone congregates in the main building every evening and they show a film at 8.30 each night. There is all sorts of wildlife around the place including the most enormous cockroach I have ever seen called Bruce (yes Laura, way bigger than the one in our bathroom, I'm getting over my fear!), some cheeky parakeets who come for breakfast and a cuckaburra who sits on the washing line while I hang my washing out! Fate played a hand and a job driving the bus here was starting the day I got back from sailing so I took it! I share the driving with a lovely French guy (who I now also share a room with in the staff quarters!) and everyone here is so friendly, I think I will have a happy few weeks here. Also means I can do some exercise and eat well for a bit as well! Oh and they are sending me on a free day trip sailing and snorkeling again tomorrow!

This means that the blog will be either
a) quiet for a while, or
b) boring!

Please keep in touch, I work long hours here but have a lot of waiting around to do so think emails will be being checked often so I can promise prompt replies to everyone!

Miss you all

Lots of love from my new temporary home
Amy x x x

PS forgot to mention the amazing free brekkie: cereals, fruit, toast and home made muffins, hence the running!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.7kb