waiting and tent slashing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
May 31st 2007
Published: May 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post


Hi all!

I think the last I worte was about Noosa, that seems like a lifetime ago! I went to Rainbow Beach from there as I'd heard it was a really nice place and I had 2 days to chill before going to Fraser Island. Unfortunately the weather was pretty rubbish and other than a beach there is literally NOTHING to do in Rainbow! The days seemed to last forever, I read 5 trashy magazines that the cleaner gave me out of sympathy, watched films that the pitying hostel put on and generally waited, it was painful!

However, then there was Fraser Island!!! I was quite worried about what my group would be like but they were great! There was a lovely fellow yorkshire lass who was my age, 2 irsish guys a similar age and then 7 guys and gals who were very young but turned out to be great fun and we got on so well! The day we set off it was absolutely p*ssing it down, torrential rain! We packed the van in the rain and set off trying to stay optimistic! Our optimism was rewarded, although it did rain a fair amount, it stayed dry for all the important parts so that we could swim in Lake McKenzie, see sharks, rays and turtles from India Head and play plenty of drinking games in the evenings! The most inventive game had to be 'The Goon of Fortune' which involved, rope, trees and physical activity (and goon of course!)! We camped in the wilds both night so completely stank by the time we got back and I have never had so much sand everywhere! We saw a couple of dingoes but had no trouble from them. I got to drive the 4 by 4 on the beach which was lodas of fun! The only down side was a prank that went wrong (by another group - they stole our tarp, shovel, table leg, put chilli sauce on our wind screen and dug a trench under one of the tents, all because we took their furry dice with the intention of returning them) and resulted in my tent getting slashed so that Christine had to sleep in the van and I had to sleep in a 3 man tent with 3 guys and a trench under it! The camp was devastation in the morning, but it made us stronger as a group!

Had a last supper back in Rainbow Beach with my group and then had to spend another dull day there before getting a night bus to Airlie Beach which is where I am right now. Going on a boat on Saturday and I can't wait! Although, it's been raining today... and I left my washing out at the hostel which is a 20 minute walk away, doh!

Anyway, trying to upload piccies on imagestation, internet worked at snail's pace in R.B.!

Hope you are all well

Amy x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.4kb