Cairns and Cape Trib


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post


So I finally left Airlie, woohoo! And I dragged my mate Kelly with me, she was in danger of spending her entire time in Oz there and seeing nothing! Together we left on the 6am bus after staying out drinking til 5am and then packing in a blind drunken state! The good part of this is that we slept the whole 11 hours on the bus, I recommend this method to anyone!

Cairns seems like a nice enough place and the weather is gorgeous. It's really about the trips you can do from here though. Kelly headed off on a 3 day diving trip (we are planning on meeting up again next week) and I did a one day snorkelling trip on the Barrier Reef, it was stunning, the coral is so beautiful and I saw some rays! As well as lots of big and pretty fish of course! I never saw a turtle snorkelling here or in Airlie but I did see some when I went fishing!

The next day I did a fab trip to Cape Tribulation, saw a 5 metre long saltie croc, snakes and a green tree frog! Also the rainforest is so spectacular, I loved it! Unfortunately it was this day that I started to come down with a virus so was feeling completely exhausted after the 12 hour trip. Crashed in bed very early, Magnetic Island tomorrow...!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb