Magnetic Island and Townsville


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Magnetic Island
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Spent 2 days on Magnetic Island (Maggie Island to the locals). It is such a stunning place, big grey boulders, steep wooded hills, clear blue waters with reef right off the beach. I could have spent longer there had I had the time. It actually reminded me of Isla Del Sol in Bolivia (Laura will know what I'm talking about!). Unfortunately I felt pretty ill whilst there so was in bed by 9 every night! I managed to lug myself up a big hill, huffing and puffing and feeling rotten all the way, but all this was forgetten when I was rewarded, not just by spectacular views, but a real life koala in the wild! I could have stood watching him all day! I finished the trip off by sleeping on the beach, sleep has been taking up a huge proportion of my time the last few days but it's working as I feel a little better this afternoon!

I left Maggie island today and came to Townsville, it's the second city of Queensland (after Brisbane) so I was expecting big things but there really isn't much here! I passed the afternoon my favourite way, with a coffee and the losal rag, it's such a good way to find out about a place and its people! There was of course a lot about the Australian link to the attempted bombings at home (which has really shocked oz) but there were 2 stories that just summed up this state whose people I love! One was a guy who is campaigning to arm every Queenslander man with a rifle to protect against crocs and another was about a local teenager who had done a portrait of the Queen in Vegemite (a poor version of marmite that aussies are brought up on). Her teacher thought it was so good that she sent a photo to the Queen who wrote back saying thank you and what an unusual medium to do her portrait by it was, bless the Queen!

Anyway, time for my sausage sissle at the hostel, 12 hour bus journey tomorrow to the mining town of Mt Isa, very excited to leave the coast and see the outback now!

Love to all x x x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb