Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
April 18th 2007
Published: April 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at 6:00 in the morning having had very little sleep.

Started the day badly by jumping onto the wrong mini pickup bus to the wrong hostel. The hostel id made a reservation with began something with "B" and so did the mini bus I jumped on. Took me a while to notice though. Kept thinking "gees, this place is nothing like the description in the lonely planet guide.".

Afterwards took the long and hard walk to the correct hostel.

Once there and checked in, I started to wish Id stayed in the wrong hostel as it took the ages to get my bed ready. I just wanted to get some sleep! Tried sleeping for a while on one of the coaches.
Finally at one it was ready so I went for a bit of a snooze.

Got up at 3-4ish and decided to head down into Airlie (consists of mainly lots of bars and hotels down one strip of road)for some late lunch and to pick up some food for tonight.

Being quite a small place but incredibly popular I did end up bumping into a few people Id met on my way up north.

Got back to the hostel where along with some other people who'd also arrived on the night bus we watched mainly any old crap on the box.

Had dinner and chatted for a while with a girl who'd just come back from a boat trip to the Whitsunday islands.

Went to bed early as I would have to get up early to find a boat for myself. I hadnt pre booked anything (most people had said that I should have) but with two hundred boats doing daily trips to these beautiful coral islands I thought Icould probably get myself a good deal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb