Airlie Beach - Whitsunday tour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
April 19th 2007
Published: April 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 9ish.

While I was getting ready I got talking to a chap called Yool (Dutch) who had come in on the same bus as me the day before. He was due to be starting his Whitsunday boat tour today in the late afternoon. I hadnt booked anyhing as of yet.

We both went down to town. He need booz and supplies, I need a boat.

While walking past the Magnums Hostel/tour agents we spotted a bill board with some special offers. One of the offers turned out to be with the boat Yool would be taking (called the New Horizon). I figured I might as well go in and make some inquiries.
It turned out to be an offer I couldnt refuse. It was 100 dollars less then normal, included two free nights hostel accomodation when I got back and free luggage storage. Sometimes it pays off to be disorganised! Anyway, one of the reasons it was dirt cheap was of course it being a last minute deal (boarding was at 4:00 that very day.) So I headed back to my Hostel and packed my stuff and checked out.

After dropping my stuff off at Magnums I needed to walk down to the dock office to check in. Yool was going to grab lunch and then hang out at the lagoon. I said Id meet him later.

On my way to the office I bumped into the guys Id done the Fraser Island trip with. They were just coming back from their Whitsunday trip. Thats the thing with Airlie Beach, its so small and everyone comes here to do the Whitsundays. You end up bumping to everyone you've met along the way up the east coast.

It was a really hot and sweaty day. After the long but picteresque walk to the dock office along the lovely pedestrianised water front, I checked in then wondered back to get some lunch.

Wondered through the Lagoon, which is a large man made pool (swimming pool with sea water a presume) surrounded by beach and grass. While wondering around I couldnt help but notice how fantasticly beautiful the Lagoon area is. Im not talking about the area of grass or sand around the pool more the large mass of sunbathed beautiful bodies crammed into such a small area. I mean bloody hell!! It was like a jet plane carrying a load of tanned bikini wearing models, exploded, their bodies fell to earth and they landed in sunbathed positions around the lagoon. Never seen anything like it, not one fat ugly woman. I was just releaved I had my tinted sunglasses at the time.

Getting side tracked now with the memory...... got lunch.

Headed back to the docks for 4:00 and got some beer on the way. While waiting to board the New Horizon (hope it doesnt end up being like the Event Horizon) I met the reat of the people I would be spending the next 2 days with. There was to be 22 of us in total.

We boarded the ship which was a little smaller then expected but apparently it could carry 35 people max. We were then allocated our bunks then given a briefing. We then filled out the forms for our free scuba dive and it turned out due to having the remain of a cold I wouldnt be able to do it. Actually the cold was just passable, but the fact that I had broncittos when I was 5 years old was the final nail in the coffin. That really sucked.

Spent the rest of the time chilling while with sails fully extended we blasted ourway towards Whitsunday island.

We put ancor at 7:00 and had a really great dinner.

Then we sat around and drank and played drinking games (captin cook and 21)before finishing the day off with some sing alongs led by the skipper and his guitar skills.

Advertisement



24th April 2007

Drinking games
Haven't heard of the Captain Cook one, you will have to teach upon your return!
25th April 2007

Photos
I'm disappointed there are no photos to accompany your interesting Lagoon description.

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb