Birthplace of Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » 1770
September 30th 2007
Published: October 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

After 3 non-stop days on Fraser Island I decided on the town of 1770/Agnes Water. It is about 4 hours north of Hervey Bay and only 2000 people live in both towns. I came with no plans besides just hanging out, doing some laundry and maybe some surfing. The hostel was absolutely amazing set right in the middle of a residential neighborhood.

After lounging the first night, I decided on a surfing lesson in the morning. It only cost $16.50 for a 4 hour lesson. Most have been costing about 45 so I've passed on all of them. The lesson was pretty piss poor, but once I got in the water it was worth the money. Pretty small waves, but just fine for me. They also offered cheap rentals so I went back the next day and rented a board for the afternoon. I ended up finishing 2 books and watching a bunch of the Rugby World Cup going on in France. Australia and New Zealand have been plowing through all the competition.

I think the most excitement came on the bus ride up when I realized I left my memory card in the computer at the last hostel. I called them at our first stop and they had it at the front desk. Luckily the Scottish boys, Barry & Allen were heading North later on a night bus. I called Allen and he picked it up and brought it with him to Airlie Beach. I had close to 500 pictures so I was very thankful for him. I'm going to start backing up all the pictures a lot more often now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

OzOz
Oz

Piece of wood shaped like Australia. Probably not natural.
RubgyRubgy
Rubgy

Family game of rugby at sunset
SurfingSurfing
Surfing

Looking back I wish I asked him to come closer.
Crazy CrabCrazy Crab
Crazy Crab

Some crab in the process of clearing out his home.


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb