Katherine - Tennant Creek


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The GahnThe GahnThe Gahn

Cabin Ready for Bed
Just before dinner I made my way to the lounge where the Gold Manager Garey was hosting a welcome to the Gahn Champagne party. I soon realised that there were 73 people in one carriage, a bit of a squeeze but a great opportunity to meet everyone in one space, Garey provided us with some statistics about the train:-

Carriages - 23
Length - 530 metres
Dining Cars - 2 Gold Class
Lounge - 2 Gold Class
Snack Bar - 1 Red Class
First Gahn to Run on the track was on 2nd Feb 2004 and this was 1.4 km long.

After the reception we retired for our blue dinner sitting in the next carriage. Salad starter, beef main course and cheese platter for desert all washed down with a lovely bottle of wine called the Gahn. We retired to the lounge for a coffee which soon drifted towards a strong night cap.

It was not long before I returned to the cabin to find that my cabin chair had transformed into a lovely bed, it was a great night, I slept like a long until I woke during our 3:00 stop in Tennant Creek, turning over in
The Gahn The Gahn The Gahn

Cabin handbasin
bed I dozed off.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb