Tennant Creek - Alice Springs


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The GahnThe GahnThe Gahn

Sunrise
05:30 saw a lovely outback sunrise all red and violet, the colours were spectacular.

We have not entered the red centre where the soil has changed from teracotta to bright red. There is alot of low scrub land with clumps of trees it seems that where the water holes are the trees are bigger and more dense, the further away the tree is the smaller it gets almost to the size of clumps but they are stunted more like bushes.

06:00 first train anouncement, for red card sitting I have to wait to 08:00 for my blue card sitting, it seems that we will be arriving into Alice Springs at 09:00.

10:00 the train got in on time and we had to wait some time for the luggage to be brought to us. In the end the Gator pulled up and there was a free for all to pick each case off the pile. Getting through the rugby scrum I soon located my case and dragged it over to the bus that was waiting to take us to the hotel.

After arriving at the hotel in Alice I decided to change hotels as to me it did not look like it was in a nice area as some of the Auzzies had warned me about being near the river at night so I moved to the Crown Plaza without any problems.

12:30 went into Alice Springs for the afternoon and had a look around, it felt very safe and managed to have a lovely look around the place. I came back to the hotel about 18:00 to have a refreshing shower before dinner.

20:00 I had dinner in the hotel's Thai restaurant and some people from the train invited me over to their table so I sat with them until it was time to retire for the night. I've booked an early call to get me up at 05:30 in the morning so that I will be ready for the Kings coach tour to Uluru.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb