Katherine Whistle Stop Tour


Advertisement
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The GahnThe GahnThe Gahn

Arrival in Katherine
When the Gahn arrived in Katherine they had a bush fire, it seems that a BBQ at one of the airbases nearby got our of hand and resulted in causing a bush fire that was heading for the town including us. So when we arrived it was quite bad, we alighted from the train and made our way through the smoke to the waiting transport where we were taken to Katherine Gorge about 20 minutes from the town of Katherine.

As we arrived near the Katherine Gorge, my bravado was starting to thin, what had I done well I'd just booked a helicopter tour to see the Gorge from above. With my fellow passengers, I took to the air in this flying dishwasher and after getting over the fear, it was fantastic as it was my first time in a helecopter I think I did pretty well.

When we returned to the train the locals were creating fires near the town to try and back burn so that the fire would go out if the wind changed direction. The wild life was starting to come out and look for the crispy snakes that did not make it, so there
The GahnThe GahnThe Gahn

Bush Fires in Katherine
were alot of Walabies and birds of prey hanging around the station waiting to send us off.

I walked to the front of the train and met the station master in his John Deere Tractor that he used to get up and down the platform. It was then I realised exactly how long the train acutally was, at this time I was aware that the time was getting on so boarded the train ready for my next desination.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

The Chopper
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

Katherine Gorge
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

I'm trying to look confident here...
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

The surrounding area from the air.
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

The engine
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

Wallabies in the Bush
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

Termite Mounds


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb