Joining the Gahn in Darwin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Darwin HotelDarwin HotelDarwin Hotel

Waiting for the Gahn Bus
Awoke at 05:30 (slept in) called Stephen and had a chat, gave up with Skype as the internet connection died $8.50 for 30 minutes and I got 3 minutes, so we talked on my UK mobile as they Australian Vodaphone mobile would not work.

Breakfast at 07:00 full cooked and very nice, checked out at 08:15 went for a walk to get some money from the cashpont which was not far from the hotel. Waited outside the hotel for the Gahn bus to arrive, caught bus with fellow travellers but discovered that main luggage must be under 20kilos and that it would be put in the luggage car until the end of my journey. So wearing all of my heavy stuff plus tripod as hand luggage I joined the bus, we were transferred for about 40 minutes as the train station is not in Darwin itself.

Upon arrival at the train station all of the luggage was offloaded and placed onto the luggage trolley which consisted of a John Deere Gator pulling about three trolleys. If our luggage was over 20lbs we were called off the bus to place items into a bag provided by the train operator. Once
The GahnThe GahnThe Gahn

Boarding the Gahn in Darwin
this was done the bus then turned around and drove to the back of the train, we were asked to be prepared to leave the bus when it arrived at our carriage. 5 minutes later we arrived at my carriage Gold Sleeper I9, with my fellow single travellers we boarded the train and located our cabins.

After the train pulled away dead on 10:00 I made my way to the lounge car where I booked my Katherine Whistle Stop tour. As I had chosen the blue (2nd) sitting for lunch at the anouncement I made my way to the next carriage which was the dining car. During this time I met some of my fellow travellers, they were two lovely ladies from Yorkshire/Cheshire and Les an ex Merchant Seaman. We all had a ploughmans lunch with water, tea and jelly for desert. Afterwards I returned to my cabin at 13:00 just in time for our Katherine arrival at 14:30.






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

My Cabin I9
The Gahn The Gahn
The Gahn

My Cabin I9
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

The corridor in carriage M
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

One of the Rivers between Darwin and Katherine
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

One o fthe Briges between Darwin and Katherine
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

Irrigated Fruit Trees along the track
The GahnThe Gahn
The Gahn

Passing through a small town on our way to Kathrine


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb