Darwin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
October 21st 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Darwin TourDarwin TourDarwin Tour

Buildings within Darwin
Arrived in Darwin and caught the local airport bus into the city for $11 arrived at the hotel at 11:15 am to be informed that the hotel room was not ready for me. After a 15 minute wait in the lobby the room was ready but it overlooked the car park at the back when I had requested a sea view. The hotel soon moved me and I managed to get a room with a lovely sea view.

I went for a walk around Darwin and to be honest I was not really impressed, it was a modern 1970's style with fading facades everywhere. I decided to ignore the central district and walked along the esplanade this was very interesting with many pretty tropical flowers.

At the back of the hotel at 14:00 I caught the bus tour of Darwin but first it was quite interesting going up and down the main streets in a bus but it went on a bit, I discoverd about the bombing of Darwin during the 2nd world war and the cyclone Tracey that distroyed the town in 1974. After the tour I was so tired as it did not finish until 18:00, the
Darwin TourDarwin TourDarwin Tour

The telegraph building
heat was so humid so I went to bed and slept the clock round.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

Oil fields nearby in East Timor Sea
Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

House of the Commonwealth Representative for the Northern Territory
Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

The Esplanade
Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

First Qantas Hanger now owned by the Darwin Car Enthusiast Club
Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

Botanical Garden Fountain
Darwin TourDarwin Tour
Darwin Tour

Original Methodist Church for Darwin now relocated to Botanical Gardens to protect it from any Cyclone


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb