Camping out... in a cattle station!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
November 4th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yep... it is exactly how it sounds! Last night we slept out in swags (like sleeping bags with matresses in them) under the stars. Well, it did rain slightly but actually it was very refreshing seeing as it was so hot! We all slept in a big circle cos a few of the girls were worried about snakes- not me of course- I wasn't bothered by it at all!!

We had a good night though. A couple of the boys woke up to the Turkey (named Christmas) and an Emu (named Ernie) wandering around them but they were a bit away from us. One of the guys snores really loudly! We had a slide show in the evening about cattle stations and how they are run which was quite interesting. Then we toasted marshmallows on the campfire.

Today we made our way from Banka Banka up to Katherine. We went to a natural thermal water spring on the way for a refreshing swim which was just great. Very hot again though- the water itself was 35 degrees! For lunch we stopped at the Devils Marbles. We had a climb up a few of them, the views were good. It's
Having a swim...Having a swim...Having a swim...

...so lovely and warm
strange because they do just look like big orange marbles! Tonight we feel like we're in the lap of luxury in our own beds- and they're not bunk beds either!

We are going to Katherine Gorge tomorrow- I decided to canoe it- the crocodiles are freshwater so very rarely a threat. Lots of love to everyone at home x


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th November 2006

Hello!
Hey Beccy, now I've got over the shock of you throwing yourself out of a plane I thought I better write a proper comment. I miss you so much but I'm so glad you're having such fun. I love reading all about it. You have inspired Paul and I so much we may plan a trip of our own!
6th November 2006

Hey!
Hey Lins, glad I have inspired you both to come out here for your own adventures. I am having such an amazing time I think everyone should do it before they settle down. I miss you lots too and hope you can come out and see me in the not too distant future. Hope school is going well. I actually really miss teaching- a lot more than I thought I would. Looking forward to getting my teaching registration when I'm in Adelaide so I can see what it's like over here. Take care, lots of love x

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb