Out in the Outback!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
November 2nd 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok- lots to update! We flew over to Alice Springs from Cairns on Saturday. Quite a few of the others on our East coast tour were also doing this one too so we all flew over together. On our first night we went to a pub called Bojangles. It was very unique and rustic. They had saddles as bar stools and all sorts of things embedded in the walls and floorboards. I tried crocodile- it was actually really tasty and I would have it again. I also had a lovely beer- Carlton Draught- very nice. So anyway, the next day we went to The Olgas and went on a short walk there. Then we went onto Ayers Rock where we stayed to watch the sun set.

It was cool and we had wine and nibbles as well! Red wine is really growing on me- I like it. The next day was our early start to see the sun rise over Ayers Rock- 4am- I can honestly say I didn't expect to see that time of day on my travels- apart from perhaps after a late night out! But it was worth it, the rock was a silouette when we approached
Me on the Harley...Me on the Harley...Me on the Harley...

...how cool do I look?!!!
and gradually it got more orange as the sun fell on it. We then took a walk around the base of the rock which took us 2 hours- it was very hot and hard work after a while.

Kate and I decided to also do a Harley Davidson ride around the base- much more comfortable and really really cool. In fact it has definitely inspired me to get my bikers license! I think that will be the next thing on my list of things I'd like to achieve. We had a look around the cultural centre afterwards and then headed back for lunch.

That night we went to our camp base where the weather decided to turn and a huge thunderstorm hammered down on all the tents! We had a brief interlude where the rain eased off and managed to toast some marshmallows on the bonfire- they were very tasty. We played a lot of uno which was fun too! The lightening was amazing to watch and the whole atmosphere- although wet- was actually quite spectacular and a change from what we've been used to.

On Tuesday it was a trip to Kings Canyon. It was huge and we went on a long 4 hour climb/walk. Unfortunately I got quite de-hydrated which runied the next night and day for me- I won't gross you out with the details!! We are now back in Alice Springs. We went on a hot air balloon ride this morning. Again it was a sun rise ride and so we had to get up at 3.30am!! Wasn't sure if I was going to make it but am glad I did. After that we met up with the rest of the group and did a couple of walks.

Myself and another girl Elerie did the Alice Springs reptile centre this afternoon because we missed it yesterday from being unwell. I held various lizards and a big python gave me a very nice cuddle! I decided that I can handle snakes as long as I can see their heads- wasn't too keen when it wrapped itself around me and started exploring down the back of my leg!! All good fun though.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The python...The python...
The python...

...he was actually very friendly!


3rd November 2006

Beccy it all sounds wonderful. i feel really boring now. I am glad you have taken to red wine and eaten crocodile and held slimey creatures. You are very brave. I can hardly hold a hamster without feeling funny. i am not doing anything very exciting but hey there is always hope isn't there. Ha. lots of love to you and continue to enjoy. Jan X
4th November 2006

I'm a crazy lady!
Hi Jan- I know I am being very adventurous out here- but hey that's what life is for- living! It's all very exciting and I'm enjoying thinking up new challenges for myself. I'm sure I'll calm down a bit when I go to Adelaide next week and start looking for work etc... Take care, Beccy x

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb