Canoeing on Katherine Gorge River


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and Carina with our canoeMe and Carina with our canoeMe and Carina with our canoe

Reminds me a bit of Baywatch!!
This morning we made our way to Katherine Gorge. Half the group were going on a cruise and the other half (myself included) decided to canoe it. It was two to a canoe and I shared with Carina, a German girl who me and Kate have been sharing a room with since Alice Springs. It was hard work on our arms but the view was beautiful. We stopped on a beach after an hour to have a swim. We might've stopped earlier but it was the first beach that didn't have a sign saying not to swim because of the crocodiles! It was very refreshing anyway and cooled us down nicely after all our hard work.

After the canoeing we re-joined the rest of the group and went to Edith falls. It was a very pretty waterfall and we had lunch there. The rest of the day was spent travelling up to Kakadu. We are staying in Jabiru in a very nice resort. Before settling down into our nice air conditioned rooms we made one last trip out to watch the sun set over a beautiful part of the park. Unfortunately it was a bit cloudy but the views were
SwimmingSwimmingSwimming

Very nice and no crocs!
still amazing and we had nibbles to keep us going too!!We also had a walk around some of the rock art sites. There were lots of aboriginal dreamtime stories behind the paintings. It was all very interesting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Waiting for the sun to set!Waiting for the sun to set!
Waiting for the sun to set!

whilst being attacked by flies!!


8th November 2006

Miss you much!!
Hey Bec! Not sure if you're getting the msgs coz I'm not sure how to check they've been delivered. I'm glad you're having a good time still. Can't believe you jumped out a plane at 14,000 ft, I find it hard enough getting on one when it's on the runway. Say hi to Kate for me. Looking forward to your next blog, I love reading them before I start my lessons in college, gives me a boost for the day! Love you lots, Sam xxxx
10th November 2006

Thank you!
Thank you Julie, I am enjoying all the adventures I am having and trying to get as many different experiences as I can. It's great fun and I'm loving every minute. Will be hard saying goodbye to Kate tomorrow but I'm sure you'll be glad to have her back. Take care, Beccy x x x
10th November 2006

Hey!
Hey sam, good to hear from you. I miss you too and hope you are saving all your spare pennies (if you even have any!) to come and visit me. Glad you are enjoying my blog- I'm about to update it all and finish putting all the pics on (well, not all the pics- we have hundreds- a select few will go on!!) Take care and lots of love, bec x x x

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb