Our scenic flight and cruise on the East Alligator River


Advertisement
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning we went on a scenic flight over Kakadu National Park. It was a very smooth flight and the views were incredible. There are so many different eco-systems in just one park- although it is absolutely huge. We had headphones on which commentated on what we were seeing which was good too. After the flight we went back for breakfast and then on to a cruise on the East Alligator River. We saw so many crocodiles- saltwater ones this time. I was a bit nervous sitting next to the water but realised after a while that they don't really approach the boat!

We went up-stream and our guide told us lots about the plants, trees and rocks we saw and how they feature in the lives of the aboriginies. We stopped off at a look out point on Arnhem land, took photos and found out more about the weapons and punishments of the native people. Gruesome stuff! I found it interesting that the person who commits the crime has to have their punishment delivered by a member of their family and that if they can not be found to recieve the punishment a member of their family has to take it for them. The punishments were mainly having a spear stabbed through a various part of your body- where would depend on the seriousness of the crime.

Anyway, the rest of the day was our own free time- finally! We went to the pool and i wrote some postcards. (Tip: if I haven't sent you a postcard yet I don't have your address! E-mail it to me and I'll send more!!) It was very relaxing although also very hot! The rest of the evening was just dinner and then bed. At dinner for starters we had this marinaded meat. Everyone was telling me it was steak- which made me a bit suspicious. But I tried it anyway and it definitely was not steak- it was far too tender and rare. Then they gave in- it was kangaroo! I can't believe they tricked me into eating Skippy :- ( ! We had a huge power cut later that evening while I was in the middle of packing my backpack- the storms were brewing! The thunder that night was like nothing I've ever heard before.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Me and Yohan on the coach...Me and Yohan on the coach...
Me and Yohan on the coach...

...where we spend a lot of our time!!


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb