Making our way to Darwin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
November 7th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning we had an extremely early start- 4.45am I got up! We had packed our breakfast the night before to eat on the coach so we didn't have to get up even earlier than that! We went on the Yellow Water cruise. This one was more aimed at the wildlife in the park and it was a really peaceful morning. I was amazed at how many different birds I saw. My favourites were the Jabiru, kingfisher, sea Eagles and the Jesus bird! (Nicknamed that because it can walk on water! -Well lilly pads anyway!) We also saw lot more crocodiles and many different trees and plants.

After the cruise we spent the rest of the day travelling up to Darwin. We stopped for lunch on the way where we watched the Melbourne Cup races. A huge horse racing event which the whole of Australia seems to stop for! - It's even a public holiday in Melbourne itself. We did a sweepsteak on the bus and bought horses, choosing them at random. I got a horse called Delta Blues, a Japenese stayer. Watching the race was fun. There were 24 horses all together so I was pretty shocked when mine
Crocodile!Crocodile!Crocodile!

One of many!
actually won! I got a grand total of $21.90 in winnings! (I really wish I'd have bet on it for real- I'd be so rich now!!)

After all the excitement it was back on the bus again. When we got to Darwin we checked out our rooms. I got the double bed which was actually more like a triple bed- it was huge! I got some washing done and then got ready for our evening out. We went to the water front before dinner to watch the sun set. It was a clear sky and the best sunset I've ever seen. I also got to have a beer after a whole week of waiting to get over the de-hydration. It was the best beer I've ever had!

We went for dinner afterwards and I decided to be adventurous again and try oysters! Me and Kim shared a plate. We had three each, one natural, one with melted cheese and one with bacon. I found it really hard to swallow it whole without gagging! (as you can see from the photo!!) I liked the cheese one best, not sure I'd have them again though. For my main course I had a lovely steak and chips. The food on the tour has been super healthy which was nice but I've missed my chips! (Interesting fact: did you know that Australians call crisps chips and chips chips! Does that make sense!! So how do they tell them apart when someone asks for chips?!!!- just a thought!!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Oysters...Oysters...
Oysters...

...hard to swallow!!


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb