Uluru, the Australian natural wonder.


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Uluru

The biggest stone of the planet.

It was during the summer holidays last year when I got a bonus from work and I decided to spend it all on travel. I flew to Australia to see the famous Uluru rock in the Northern Territory’s hot desert. Alice Springs town had great and affordable accommodation so I checked into one of the hotels. I was anticipating to see the sunset that evening so I hired a car and drove to the rock. It was about four hundred kilometers from Alice Springs town.

The road towards the rock was sandy and very dusty. The area was flat and dry with scarce vegetation. All I could see through the window were scattered shrubs, thorny trees and grass. On arrival at the foot of the mountain, I met other people who wanted to see the sunset. We were given a tour by the inhabitants of the area as they explained the cultural and spiritual significance of the rock to them and the rich history of it all. We sat down as we observed the sunset. It was amazing how the rock changed colors from orange to red, which created a magnificent contrast between the white clouds in the blue sky. The view was amazing from below. The rock is about two thousand feet above sea level with ten kilometers circumference.

The next day I went at noon. From afar, the rock looked like a village in which people lived in brown tents because of the distinct fissures on the enormous rock as I moved closer, it looked more of a sandstone and the vegetation surrounding it was mostly buffelgrass and burr grass. The inhabitants had earlier said that some grass were planted because of major destructive erosions that occur whenever it rains and some grew because they were carried in wheels of cars that drove to the site. I was profusely sweating due to the high temperatures which made me miss the storms and snow back in America. The sky was beautiful and clear but it was quite strange that birds were not up in the sky. It was my last day there so I had to make the most out of it by I staying till late just to have a glimpse of one last sunset. I walked through the desert, viewing the huge rock at different angles and distance.

It was a two-day tour but believe it or not, my mind was blown more than I ever imagined. Uluru is a real natural wonder and indeed the biggest rock in the world, you should see it yourself. I left Uluru wishing I would buy land there and build a house with windows of my bedroom facing the rock so that I can enjoy the scenery. It was worth my time and money, will it be so for you? There is only one way to find out. Get your passport and and prepare to plan on how to visit Australia and have the greatest travel trip ever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb