Breathtaking views from the Singapore Flyer


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Geylang
September 3rd 2015
Published: July 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I knew before that Singapore was a wonderful place, which is why I booked the flight to this city in the first place. However, I had no slightest idea how impressive the city was until I landed. I came to Singapore with a tourist visa, but fall in love with the city and now I seriously consider moving here permanently.

Even at the airport I saw that everything in this city is huge. I spent the whole ride from the airport to my hotel looking through the window. The hotel in which I stayed in is located in a quiet area, just outside of the city center, near the Fort Canning Park.

In the walking distance of the place where I stayed at are several important Singapore attractions. Some of those include Sri Thendayuthapani Temple, one of a few Hindu temples in the city. It was built back in the mid-19th century and a few years ago, Singapore government declared it a national monument. Speaking of temples, there’s also a Buddhist temple close to the hotel. However, although I can’t argue these monuments are impressive, I wanted more to check out some other Singapore attractions.

Visiting Singapore Flyer

My first day in Singapore passed quickly, so I left the most exciting part for the next day. I went to see the most impressive part of Singapore, Marina Bay. This is the area where I took most photos as I was delighted to see live one of the world’s best hotels, Marina Bay Sands. The luxury hotel with amazing rooftop swimming pool simply looked breathtaking, so I had to take a closer look.

The reason why I decided to go on a ride at Singapore Flyer was to get a better look of Martina Bay Sands, which was my best decision on this trip. The Singapore Flyer is an observation wheel that gives amazing views of the whole city. Its height is 165 m, which means that when you are on the top, you can virtually see most parts of the city. Still, the best views are of the Gardens by the Bay and the Marina Bay Sands hotel, which are just across the bay.

I took a special interest in Gardens by the Bay, as this is one of the most beautiful nature parks on the planet. In fact, it is also one of the biggest, especially among those situated in cities. From the top of the Singapore Flyer you can see a large chunk of the park, but the most noticeable thing is the Supertree Grove. These structures dominate the view, not only because of their size, but also for their looks. Supertrees are tree-like man-made structures that serve as gardens for a number of plant species.



Of course, when you’re up in the Singapore Flyer, you can’t miss the Marina Bay Sands. This is probably the most famous attraction of Singapore and you’ve probably seen it a dozen times. With its rooftop pool and out-of-this-world design, the hotel is a true masterpiece of architecture.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb