Birthday Boy


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
June 7th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday To Me!

Spent the day dazed and confused, numbed by the grey fog in my brain that was brought on by last night. Eugh. Tequila shot after Tequila shot after jug of beer. Is it any wonder? Still, it was a brilliant night of wonderful people, laughs and table-top dancing... in fact it was a miraculous night, if only for that fact that I somehow avoided breaking my neck as I expertly shook my booty from table to table - well, I thought so.

I was woke by Alex The German and Delphine The French getting up. In my snoozy dreams I looked forward to a day alone, (if you know me, you'll know that I can quite easily overdose on people and need time alone to recover), doing my own thing, perhaps starting off with a full English breakfast, then a read, then lunch and coffee, then a film, a good bottle of red and an early night ..... mmmm blisss.

When I finally hawled my blurry ass out of bed around midday I found 2 lovely voice mails of birthday wishes including a parental rendition of the song of the day. Ahhh. It does feel odd having a birthday away from home, much stranger that I remember feeling when Christmas dawned in Sydney 6 months ago.

However, come 12 o'clock I found Alex, (who I'd been looking forward to escaping from, mainly due to his incessant talking and waffles of "You wouldn't find this in Europe...Rivers are much colder in Europe...Europe is nowhere near as flat...etc, etc"), had brought continental breakfast for himself and me, (yes, it was all there: rolls, cheese, salami - EUGH!) and planned a walk down to the beach.

So much for a birthday 'me' day


...


Just met up with the lads for a meal and one recovery pint which was cool. It's been the best group of people that I've found on my tours so far, yet I can't quite pinpoint why; especially as I dont feel close to any of them and besides swapping photos, dont think i'll contact them again. Strange.

Can't believe I'm nearly 30! Holy Shit! Where do the years go? I still feel 23. Not got my runes otherwise I'd do a 3-rune cast. Ha Ha. Life is hillarious

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb