Lorn Hill Station


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fact Number 1: Cattle Ranches are called Stations in Oz.

Our second day was a Crocodile Dundee Marathon. We'd got some serious K's to cover and so sat back through all 3 of the legendry films:

That's not a knife. This is a knife!



Paul Hogan Rules, although Croc Dundee 3 (in LA), was obviously a pile of crap, and it must have been face-life-city in the principles' dressing room, as they all had that permanently surprised look to them.

I should just mention the sunsets that you get out here in the bush are unbelievable: amber, umber, scarlet, blue, purple - crazy colours!

Fact number 2: Didgeridoos are made from branches hollowed out by Piping Termites!

While catching a few z's though the many, many kilometers, I'd wake occasionally when our coach swerved to dodge a seemingly unstoppable gaint Road Train, (think a UK lorry * 4), and each time I'd see a completely different landscape: shrubs, bush, desert, miles of nothing, kangaroos, dingos, wild pigs, cattle, camels - all stunningly beautiful!

Fact Number 3: Cattle Stattions can get upto 10,000 sq km out here!

Greg as told us that he knows of a few stations that are looking for workers and if we want to get off and work for a few months managing cattle, then we're free to jump off! Bugger! I'd love to try this - riding horses or quad bikes all day but I've already booked 3 tours and a flight based on arriving into Darwin on the 6th June. Shite. Never mind.

Having a great time on the bus with some really cool people, in fact I think this has been the best tour yet! Funny, especially as I was really worried it would be crap. One of the lads - George, even works as a landscaper in Codicote and get this .... his mum worked at Smarts, my old company, although I started after she left - June or Julie I think her name was! Crazy!

Fact Number 4: It's my birthday in 2 days..........and I'm not going to get any cards..... 😞


Fact Number 5: My wages from Groovetrain cafe that I worked in in Melbourne were not waiting for me in Cairns, so I'm guessing they were never posted up here by my evil boss Shane. Bugger. That's about 20 or 30 hours work I've done for nothing and there's no chance of me getting them back. Shite.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb