Sight seeing in darwin


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Charlotte had to leave at midday, therefore after the 10am check out we went down to the water front and found a nice shady patch to sit in near the lagoon. After a while I went in for a swim, the water was much cooler than I expected it to be. It was more like the sea off Cornwall during summer. So I just had a quick swim around the fountain and the warmed up again in the sun. We then had an ice cream before we walked to the bus station and said our goodbyes.
Rather than go back to the hostel I got a hop on hop off tour bus ticket, which enabled me to get all the way up east point. The first stop I got off at was the Australia museum. This has many different exhibitions on including aboriginal art, modern art, Newspaper headlines, science and cyclone tracy.
The cyclone tracy exhibit showed houses before and after the event. There was a huge difference in the structure of houses to help prevent such catastrophic destruction happening again. There was also bits that had been damaged during the cyclone including huge steel beems that had been bent over in half. In a dark room you could listen to a recording of cyclone tracy made by a priest.
After 1.5hrs I got the bus again and mage it round east point.
Once back in darwin I sorted out the next few tours and showered before heading back out.
In the evening there was a market on mindle beach. It had loads of food stalls as well as craft stalls. On the walk there I had ended up walking with a group from Sydney who were doing a trek around Katherine gorge. We went round the stalls together and got dinner. I also bought a new necklace made from shillings from 1910 and 1914 during that time the coins were made from sterling silver.
I watched a display on how to use a whip. The man doing the demonstration began cracking the whip in time with music whilst also singing along. He even had whips which he set fire to and then cracked then! After the demonstration finished I headed back to the hostel.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb