Jetstar 3K161 to Darwin takes flight (July 2014)


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 23rd July 2014

Our journey to the city of Darwin started on the night of 23rd July 2014. It was 10 years back when I last visited Australia and I decided to give it another go given the long weekend ahead.

For the first time of my life, I was a bit apprehensive with our flight journey given a slew of horrible air incidents that plague the travel industry recently. Before our flight, I had to assure my parents that everything was going to be alright.

Of course, we were really quite comfortable with Jetstar given that this was a subsidiary of the Qantas Group which had maintained a good safety record since it started operations 10 years ago.

So H and myself assembled at Changi Terminal 1 at 10.30pm tonight in preparation for our 12.30am flight to Darwin. Flight time was approximately 4.5 hours and it was 6.30am in the morning by the time we landed in Australia. (Darwin is 1.5 hours ahead of Singapore).

Flight 3K161 was sold out this morning and H and I were seated in different rows. I was lucky to be upgraded to the emergency row (courtesy of H) which offered a much wider leg-room. Very soon, the flight took off in the early hours of 24th July 2014. The slight turbulences that I encountered during the course of this flight quickly sent a chill down my spine.

This was just not the perfect time for us to travel by air even though we were certainly looking forward to our vacation in Australia.

My second visit Down Under and this was H's first.

Welcome to Darwin and good morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb