Darwin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
January 16th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Darwin Wet Season SunsetDarwin Wet Season SunsetDarwin Wet Season Sunset

Not as spectacular colour-wise as Dry Season sunsets, but still beautiful.
Well, it's 2am here in Darwin. It's really odd to think that I probably won't be back to Darwin again. At least, not to visit my parents... they're selling up and moving to Victoria later this year. It's been lovely spending time with them the past few weeks. My sister Amanda, her partner Darren, and my nephew Damon (aka 'my favourite boy in the whole wide world') were here over Christmas and New Year, which was fantastic. The last family Christmas in Darwin, as it shall forever be known.

My friend Nicole flew up from Adelaide for a few days, and was witness to (and key participant in) my first and last big night out in Darwin. Very sore head the next day. Good night out, though.

The time here has been kinda hectic. In between spending time with my family, and catching up with friends (and their adorable families) who still live here, I've been running around completing last minute bits and pieces before I go. You know... having documents certified, purchasing all the little gizmos and thingies that I'll need for the trip... blah, blah. In typical fashion, I always have some last minute jobs to be done. (Gah!)

I haven't really slowed down that much from the pack-up in Melbourne. That final week, in particular, was ridiculous. The Monday night, following Kt and JB's café opening, and Lucy's Christmas party, I finally got to bed sometime after 3:30am. Tuesday I didn't go to bed at all, and was packing pretty much all the way through to midnight on Wednesday. Thursday morning, I was up at about 7am... and kept going all the way through until Meg dropped me off at the airport at 8am. Needless to say, I was exhausted by the time I arrived here!

At this point, I have to say thankyou again to the amazing Meg and Emily. Not sure what I would have done without you guys!

Sadly, I didn't manage to catch up with everyone before I left town. There were quite a few people I missed out on seeing... I just ran out of time, in the end.

Well, I'd better hie myself off to bed. In about ten and a half hours, I fly to Brisbane, where I'll catch up with Karina and her family. Wednesday evening, at 8pm Queensland time, I depart Australia for the UK. I have a five night stop-over in Dubai (yay!), and on the 23rd of January, I arrive at Heathrow.

Should be fun. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb