A walk-a-holic weekend!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 24th 2012
Published: June 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

KoalaKoalaKoala

The koala we carried in the parade
And I am connected again, hello. (Internet has been down for the weekend and I apologize for not pre-warning you blog readers that I wouldn't update over the weekend because I thought I would. You can never guess with techonology.)


This weekend was our last, and first, full weekend of living life in Lismore. As calm and quiet as Lismore/Goonellabah area is, having a weekend here was nice. It was nice to take in the community of Lismore! Kelly and I spent Friday night at our host families house, by ourselves. We were both exhausted from the week, and I think the routine of weeks into nonstop weekends had caught up with us. I went to bed by 10 Pm.




I spent Saturday morning at Goonellabahs Fitness Centers free classes; I went to step class and zumba class. The fitness instructors were full of energy, and being in a fitness class was a beautiful way to start off the day! Saturday afternoon was spent bumming around the house with Lexies (host mums) grandchildren, and than Kelly and I packed up for a hiking adventure. We walked from Goonellbah to Lismore. It was quite the walk
sunsetsunsetsunset

The most gorgeous sunsets are in Lismore
which took us about an hour. It was a "bat-i-ful" walk. By this, I mean we walked aside a rainforest that was swarming with bats in the trees. I'd never seen so many bats before.




Lismore town was busier than normal because there was festivities going on for the Lantern parade. Small, hippie market's to look at. We roamed around the area for the afternoon. There was "Yogi Beer" being sampled, and to my assumption, I thought it was beer. Turns out, it's tea packaged like a beer. I liked this unique, clever technique.




As it turned to dark, we met up with our school to march in the Lantern Parade. Kelly and I took up the front of Nestle Inn's group, marching with a giant light up koala. As we marched it was flash after flash of pictures. I felt famouse (even though it was the lantern lights the crowd was photographing, Kelly and I enjoyed acting like paparazzi was on us.) The Lanterns for the parade was marvelous to see. Kangaroos, dragons, and nemo were some of my favorite lights. In addition to the large lights, each child marching in the lantern parade carried a small lantern, which we decorated in school through out the week. The Lantern Parade brings people from all over the area, and it was quite neat to see it put on. After the parade march, we saw musical performaces and fireworks set off. I had Lexie's grandson, Miles (5 years old) sitting on my lap during the fireworks and hearing a child's reaction to fireworks has no words to describe it; he was in total amazement, and I'm lucky to have watched fireworks with such a cutie pie. "OOOHHH AHHH Lights in the sky! Loook" His reaction didn't stop the whole show.




On Sunday Kelly and I packed our bags and took a day trip back to Byron Bay. Byron is where we spent the first weekend. It was a wonderful idea to go back for the day because it was sunny today, and we were able to take in the view so much better than the first weekend when it was muggy/rainy. We arrived in Byron at 11:30 and walked straight to the beach. It was nice to be at a "tourist" area in Australia, yet be familiar with the area. The beach was busy, unlike our first weekend when we had the rainy beach to oursevles. We took the hike to the lighthouse again! I must say, so much better the first time. Some "tourst" attractions might be meant to only do once, but the lighthouse hike can be done multiple times (for a great workout too!) The clear day allowed for a perfect view of the multi-toned blue water, and, lucky as I am to write this, whale watching! We were able to hike all the way up the lighthouse (last time we were unable to due to wind), and at the top of the lighthouse, we saw the whales jumping. The first weekend we were up at the lighthouse I felt blessed to see dolphins, and here we were whale watching. Kelly and I had to speak some whale to get the whales to come out.




Trying to take in the gorgeous view of the lighthouse, we stayed up there for an hour, and than began our hike down. We took a slow hike down, because the view is remarkable, and in times of travel, living in the moment is exactly the only thing to do. The day had flown by, and it was time to bus back to Lismore Transit Centre.




It's my second week at school, and last week. It's hard to believe! Here's to the last week in Lismore. Have a Great Monday everyone!

Advertisement



25th June 2012

Darn, the end is near
Wish you a great last week in Lismore. Sorry your adventure is coming to an end. What a beauful sunset by the way. Breathtaking! Sarah, when you write about the simplest things you make them so interesting. Feel as if we are there. You have a amazing talent.Loved the photo of you and the Koala bear you carried in the parade. Love G and G
25th June 2012

Well you certainly have had quite the adventure down under --what an amazing trip --- it is so great you participated in the parrade while you were there.. so wonderful for you sarah--love you pics of thesunsets

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb