Friday night in Goonellabah


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 22nd 2012
Published: June 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, althought I have been here for 4 weeks, this is my first Friday night sitting at my host family's house in Goonellabah. Noramlly, we would be on a bus traveling to our weekend adventre (Byron Bay, Carnes, Gold Coast) but this weekend, we are staying in Goonellabah. Kelly and I are at least, the other two girls, Kelsey and April are on their way to Brisbane. As odd as it is to not be gathering, packing, and traveling on the weekend, it's nice to sit here and realax one night in Australia on the weekend.

Another day of sunshine we were blessed with 😊 As I've written in previous blogs how laid back the Australia lifestyle is, try this on for appetite: Today my coteachers at work were talking to us about the lantern parade (note: this was with children around), and encouraging us to go on a pub crawl before we march in the lantern parade. If I didn't mention this before, the lantern parade is an event we are marching in with the children/families and a Lismore community event. The culture here and views on drinking is so much different, much more laid back, than it ever is in America. Big difference!

I'm looking forward to tomorrow not only because of the Lantern parade, but also because we are going to be able to get into Goonellabah Fitness Center. They are having a fitness fair and offering free fitness classes tomorrow morning. All those tim tams, puppy chow and scootcheroo bars for the week are going to be worked bye bye.

I'm watching the movie "Australia" right now, and if you are a history junkie, I would stronly suggest watching this movie. Our host sister has been pushing for us to watching this movie since the day we got here, and here we are doing it finally. It's got Hugh Jackman and Nicole Kidman in it. It also uses the words "yanks", which is the term Australians use to refer to Americans. (A term I didn't learn untill I came here....)

I only have a bit over a week left of blogs, it's hard to believe. Keep the reading and comments coming, and I'll try to keep my blogs interesting!

Advertisement



22nd June 2012

Us \'stay at homes\' think you write the best blogs ever! However our comments are totally boring. We are really enjoying your adenture.Hope the Lantern parade is one of the highlights. While you may enjoy the fitness classes, we are aching for you. Whatever, the \'down under\' life stye seems to suit you. Don\'t drink too much though. Love, G & G
24th June 2012

friday night
Sarah time certainly gone bye for you--I can't believe you will be back so soon also --what fun for you to be in a parade. take pictures--love you

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb