Puppy chow and scotcheroos.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 19th 2012
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

DinnerDinnerDinner

American dinner Kelly and I made
Happy Tuesday to everyone.

Lastnight Kelly and I decided to take dinner into our own American hands and make dinner for our host family. We made an "American" style meal which included grilled chicken, potatoes, brocoli, peppers, and cucumbers all baked in the oven, with sides of baked beans and gucamole/chips. We had quite the feast. Normally when we have dinner there's no more than two dishes on the dinner table. In our "American" meal, we beat that number two, showing Australians how much Americans eat. I suppose you could say we did a good job. For dessert we had scotcheroos. Scotcheroos (otherwises knowns as special K bars), are special K cereal with chocolate and peanut butter. It was fun to introduce this new dessert to the family, and they enjoyed it very much!

Tonight we continued on with our peanut butter and chocolate rage and made an all time favorite, puppy chow. Australia doesn't have the regular cereal used to make puppy chow (Chex Mix) so we used the Australian version which was nearly the same, and turned out just as well as it always does it home!

Going back to school after 4 days in Carnes
SnowmenSnowmenSnowmen

The children's snowmen artwork
was a little tough, but it helped that the sun was shining all day long! We were able to be outside for nearly half the day today. We brought the art projects outside, and it got a little messy (at the end of the day my jeans and swetshirt had paint on them. Washabale ofcourse. Messy is fun 😊 ) It honor of it being Australias "winter", we talked about Minnesota's winters today, and made some snowmen.

After school I went for a very short run because the days are starting to get shorter, and it's starting to get darker quicker now. Sunsets by about 5 PM!

The days are flying by, and I only have 8 days left of my student teaching at Nestle Inn, and only two weekends left in Australia. Time is so precious, and it's so imporant to cherish every moment of your life, all the time. With my experience in Australia I'm learning how to apply this to my own life, and it's making my time here 100 times greater 😊

Advertisement



19th June 2012

Time flies
some good cookinmg and good eating going on there. You have learned one of life's greatest lessons. We forget it too quickly. Meant to say yesterday that you really could submit that 'Barrier Reef' blog to National Geographic
19th June 2012

little mistake
'I found Nemo' was the blog I meant to say. Fascinating!
20th June 2012

puppychow
hi sarah -I am glad you took to cooking american for your host family-- they must have been very pleased--those scotcheroos sound yummy --I WILL HAVE TO MAKE SOME FOR BEN -

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb