Stage 28


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
April 14th 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left Victoria to head for Sydney where I spent a week. I've been here before so most of the stuff I'd already seen. I did do the obligotory trip to the Opra House and Harbour Bridge again, you feel you have to while your here. I still find them a bit under whelming though, they don't seem to jump out at you like some other famous last marks do. I stayed in an area of the city called Kings Cross, it's cheap and there's a reason for it. You can rent some of the hotel rooms by the hour if you catch my drift. I did make it to Bondi beach, which I missed last time and to be fair, it's not all that either. It's nice enough but certainly nothing special, just famous for being in Sydney I think.
One new place that was really good was The Blue Mountains, which is inland of NSW. It's a big land scape of eucaliptus forests and cliffs. They call it the Blue Mountains because under the heat of the sun all the eucaliptus oil from the leaves evaporates, giving off a blue haze above the forest and in front of the cliffs It really is quite a view.
After Sydney I got on the overnight Greyhound bus (yep long bus rides again), up to Byron Bay. It's a nice, small holiday town but unfortunately it rained at some point during all of the four days I was there. Off up to Queensland next, hopefully to find the sun again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Olympic StadiumOlympic Stadium
Olympic Stadium

Where the 2000 Sydney Olympics were held, no less!
The Blue MountainsThe Blue Mountains
The Blue Mountains

The three rocks at the bottom left are called The Three Sisters, they're quite famous around here.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb