Satge 29


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
May 8th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Surfers Paradise to more rain, luckily it was only for one day though. It's a weird place, alot bigger than I thought it was. It stretches for miles down the beach, which is full of high rises like Benidorm. I did see a surfing competition here, it was quite good though I didn't know what was going on! The main attraction here is the beach so after about five days I'd had enough and moved up the coast to Noosa.
Noosa is a bit of one of your more posher beach resorts, it's got quite a nice beach but that's about it. I did manage to get to Australia Zoo from here though, the Steve Irwin one. It was quite good but I was expecting a bit more from it, the people you meet tend exagerate how good things are sometimes. They had a load of crocodiles and the feeding time was good to watch, I did get my picture taken holding a big python which was a bit a weird. They had an area with all the deadly snakes in but not one with spiders in which was a bit dissapointing. All in all though it was really good for a zoo.
The next stop up the coast was Rainbow Bay, this is where I did the tour to the famous Fraser Island. It's the largest sand island in the world and one of my favourite bits of oz. You get put into groups of eleven, given a 4x4, camping utensils and enough food to last the three days your on the island ( the booze you have to buy yourself). It all gets strapped to the roof and your sent on your way, left to your own devices. Luckily I was in a really good group, though I was the only one over 30 and apart from seeing all the sights of the island has to offer, we had a bloody good knees up.
I had another long overnight bus journey upto Airlie Beach to get on a 2 day, 2 night sailing cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. I pretty much got straight off the bus and onto the boat, I had a head cold that had kicked in from Fraser Island, a result of too much beer and goon (that's local speak for cheap wine). The boat was good fun, there was 24 guests plus
Australia ZooAustralia ZooAustralia Zoo

CRIKEY! Look how angry he gets when I choke him.
3 crew and we all got invloved putting the sails up and down. Which is a lot harder than it looks! We had a good around the islands and saw some tremendous sights. Didn't manage to get any photos though cos my camera was full of sand from Fraser Island and I wasn't able to get it repaired or buy a new one in time.
The last leg of my bus journey was upto Cairns, I'd heard mixed reports about this place but I really liked it. I did a scuba trip out to the Great Barrier Reef where I got with in touching disatnce of a sea turtle while it was chomping away on some coral. Also spent 2 days up at Cape Tribulation which is a big rain forest on the north eastern corner of oz.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fraser IslandFraser Island
Fraser Island

Lake Mackenzie
Fraser IslandFraser Island
Fraser Island

Ship Wreck
Fraser IslandFraser Island
Fraser Island

India Head
Cape TribulationCape Tribulation
Cape Tribulation

Jungle Surfing... Apparently!


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb