UPDATE


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
November 12th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

THREE UPDATES:


***IM AN UNCLE!***
If you haven't heard already- I am the proud Uncle to the most amazing baby on the planet- little Jackson Richard Sidorenko Kuhn! My older brother and his partner Alex welcomed Jackson into the world on November 4th- he arrived safetly and was 8 pounds, 4 ounces. Now I just need to figure out a way to get out to Nova Scotia!

***COMING HOME***
Its official! I will be arriving back in Canada on Janyary 7th. Its a bit of a weird story, but that is the next closest time for me to get home after the holidays. It will be interesting to spend a Christmas away from home- but the tradition here is to head to the beach for a BBQ- so I think I will be okay! One of my roommates is going to be around too- so I will not be totally alone.


***MELBOURNE CUP***
This is 'the Race that Stops a Nation"- is a horse race that happens once a year. Its CRAZY! In Victoria, the state where it is held- they get a day off! There is a lot of tradition around the event including the women wearing crazy big hats. So, at my school we had a luncheon where we gambled on it and drank beer and champagne, ate an amazing lunch and watched the race. (the students had gone home) It was a hoot and a half! The race lasts a minute at most, but there is so much build up and anticipation! My horses didn't win (boo) but 'Efficient' took the prize. This race was especially important since parts of Australia have been hit pretty hard with Equine Influenza which made organizing the race pretty challening....

Thats it from me!
Lots of love!

Advertisement



12th November 2007

yay you're coming home in January! i suggest a good old go out on the town with RLS...we can facebook it too...let me know :)
12th November 2007

Congrats again Adam!! Jackson is so precious!! Great name. Canada will be sooo happy on January 7th. A celebration is in order. Come out to Vancouver for a visit and some rain!!!
13th November 2007

The sport of kings
I believe the winning time for the 3200m race was around 3min 16seconds.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb