The Adventures of SAM (Sue, Adam and Mom!)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wollongong
October 17th 2007
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so my mom and her friend Sue just left yesterday 😞

And now that I have a moment to stop and think (and procrastinate from my final assignment) I can update everyone on our adventures together!

It all started with my mom's arrival. I picked her up at the airport and brought her to Wollongong. Instead of going into painstaking detail on everything that happened, here are the highlights:


Pebbly Beach
We headed down to Pebbly beach where Kangaroos are known to hang out all day. We packed a picnic and went with three other friends and headed down. Unfortunately, when we got there- there were NO roos to be found. I was really disappointed, but tried to mask it with positivity! We walked around abit and found a HUGE lizard! Almost the size of a komodo- I was scared, a little. On our way out, some groundskeepers asked if we wanted to see some kangaroos- and we said yes! The introduced us to some of their roo friends and let us feed them. They gave us some bird feed which attracted some colourful birds!


Melbourne
Two days after Sue arrived, we took of for Sunny Melbourne! (my Favourite Aussie city) It was a blast, and we did a day trip to Phillip Island (where I had seen the penguins before)- well we saw the Penguins again (they were still awesome) and some Koalas (and little koala Joeys!) The funniest part was when I was attacked by a seagul. Let me set the scene- we were at the "Nobbies" an area on Phillips Island with an educational centre dedicated to the seals and sea life on the islands coast. Well, there is a walk way where you can take a beautiful sea side stroll- it was sooooooo nice! The only thing- there were hundreds of seagulls! They were breeding, so there were tons of seagul babies, and as it turns out- angry seagull moms. So I was taking photos of the cute babies, when I got to close, apparently. A giant mom seagul started swooping my head and so I sprinted away in a serpentine pattern trying to avoid the bird. I ducked, dodged and changed directions (thank GOD no one was around) and it chased me for probably 5 minutes!


Great Ocean Road
We drove along the coast to check out the Great Ocean Road and all of its sights. It was really nice! It rained a bit, but would stop for just enough time for us to get out of the car and take some pictures.


Cairns
We flew from Melbourne to Cairns and the change in temperature was very drastic- Cairns was so warm and tropical! OUr first day there we booked ourself into a flight over the Great Barrier Reef in a little plane (it only held us three and the pilot) and it was SPECTACULAR. It was so beauriful, I couldn't get over it. The following day we did a trip out to the reef and snorkled at two different parts. We saw lots and lots of fish (I found NEMO!) and just had a blast!


Port Douglas/Daintree/Cape Tribulation
A bit north from Cairns is Port Douglas where we spent a few days. We did a few day trips up to the Daintree Rainforest (the oldest on the planet) the Daintree River (where we saw some Crocs!) and Cape Tribulation- an amazing area where the rainforest meets the ocean! So beautiful! (I have a video on my facebook if you want to check it out!) We saw a Cassowary (a very weird looking bird that is apparently quite rare) We also went to a Mango Winery and a Coffee Plantation (where we saw the deadliest snake in Oz!)


Overall the trip was a blast! Lots of wine and lots of driving! Who knew traveling with mom's could be such a blast!

I know I am missing a lot of things, so I might have to do a follow up post with the things I missed!

Lots of love from Oz!
AK





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

koala with babykoala with baby
koala with baby

baby koalas are also called joeys!


23rd October 2007

serpentine motion
i think i would have died laughing if i saw you zig zagging away form a swooping seagull! miss you adam! thanks again for the photos :D

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb