Walking About in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 30th 2017
Published: August 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

I've never been to Sydney, believe it or not. Since I was flying into and out of Sydney on my Thai Airways mileage award ticket, I decided to stay for a day and a half to get a feel for this place. I didn't come to Sydney with a checklist of things to see and do. As some of you may know, I relate best to a place when I am at street level exploring, seeing, observing, hearing, and even smelling, and that was pretty much what I ended up doing.

Walking From Bondi to Coogee



The highlight of my trip was my walk along the coastline from Bondi to Coogee. After breakfast on my one full day in Sydney, I boarded a bus from Hyde Park towards Bondi. The ride took about 40 minutes, at which point I alighted near the famous Icebergs pool at Bondi, which is the start point of the coastal walk. The view at the start point was spectacular, with the surf crashing onto the crescent shaped beach and onto the Icebergs pool below me. Walking south, I soon came across some interesting rock formations. I would see variations these formations throughout my walk.
Bondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal Walk

My walk as captured on the MapMyRun app.

Most of the coastal walk was very civilized. Although the terrain was rugged, the path was mostly paved with good directional signs. The first beach I encountered after Bondi was Tamarama, located in an inlet. After that, the walk took me to Bronte Beach. By this point, I noted that the Icebergs pool wasn't a one off - I saw at least two other similar pools built right next to the ocean at various SLSCs which I learned stood for surf life saving club. I am guessing the pools are saltwater. I marveled at the people jumping into the pool and the ocean. It wasn't terribly cold but I wouldn't be that brave.

After that, the next highlight was Waverly Cemetary. Because of storm damage, the boardwalk here was closed and walkers were diverted through the cemetary. There seemed to be a lot of Italian immigrants buried there, and I was struck by how well maintained the graves were even though many were decades old. I wondered who maintained them and if their descendents were even still living in the area. I guess my mind wandered there because my grandparents were recently exhumed and cremated; the land where they
Bondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal Walk

Icebergs pool at Bondi.
were buried is now earmarked for development in land scarce Singapore.

After Waverly, the next stop was Clovelly where there was a lawn bowling club and more spetacular views. The last stage of the hike brought me to Coogee. Along the way, there was a memorial for the victims of the Bali bombing. At Coogee, I grabbed a quick snack before hopping onto a bus bound for central Sydney.

The entire walk clocked in at 4.75 miles per my MapMyRun app. Feel free to view the workout stats here.

Walking Highlights



My hotel was centrally located near Hyde Park, and I walked to many places, including touristy places such as the Sydney Opera House, Darling Harbour and Circular Quay, as well as neighborhoods such as Chinatown, Darlinghurst, King's Cross and Potts Point and various parks. I thoroughly enjoyed getting a feel for each 'hood, especially the lived-in ones. Undoubtedly, the highlight was the Badu Gili light show at the Sydney Opera House. I didn't even know about the light show; it was just sheer luck that I happened to be there close to sunset and I saw signs for the show (it plays at sunset and at 7pm). Badu Gili showcases First Nations' (i.e., native peoples') stories/mythology set to music and spoken word. It was spectacular. I even went back the next evening to view it again as I felt I missed the full experience first time round because part of my attention was focused on taking photographs.


Reflections



During my stay in Sydney, I found myself seeking out comfort food, and I pretty much dined on Singaporean and Malaysian food every meal (there's some good authentic stuff in Sydney, by the way. Look for Mamak and Hawker, both in the Chinatown area). I began to wonder why. After six weeks of traveling, I had to confess to myself that I am tired. I miss Jeff, I miss my kitties, and I miss routine. I am beginning to question how hardy a traveler I really am (my decision to skip Makassar and Tana Toraja in favor of Bali is weighing heavily on me). Don't get me wrong; I am still having a blast and I feel so alive when I am exploring, experiencing, and learning. But, I am weary.

I am determined to finish this trip, though, as this is a once in a
Marriage EqualityMarriage EqualityMarriage Equality

Let's hope Australia joins the rest of the first world soon...
lifetime opportunity. Besides, Myanmar is on my bucket list and I feel I must experience it before it gets spoiled. I wrote this entry at the Thai Airways lounge in Bangkok while in transit back to Singapore. I will be there for four days. I need a good rest (and maybe a massage) and hopefully the spark will return in time for me to tackle Myanmar with renewed vigor.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Bondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal Walk
Bondi to Coogee Coastal Walk

The start of the coastal walk at Bondi.
Bondi to Coogee Coastal WalkBondi to Coogee Coastal Walk
Bondi to Coogee Coastal Walk

Along the coast from Bondi.


1st September 2017

Beautiful Lights
Wonderful photos of the Sydney Opera House Light Show! And the coastal walk must have been lovely too. I wouldn't be too hard on yourself - six weeks on the road is tough - I have been back from my 5.5 week trip around West Africa, and I am still very tired! I hope you get the chance to rest some in Singapore, and I am sure Myanmar will fill you with energy again when you arrive - it is a wonderful country, and definitely a good time to see it before tourism really kicks off there. Enjoy :)
1st September 2017

Got some spring back in my step....
I have an unexpected lead in my post-travel job search and that has reduced one source of anxiety. I'll know more when I return home mid-October. I'm mentally ready to tackle Myanmar now. Have you been there?
1st September 2017

Myanmar
Great, sounds like you have found some energy from that, good to hear - I wish you all the best with the lead. Gosh - mid-October - you do have a bit of travelling left - glad to hear the spring has come. Yes, I did two weeks around Myanmar back in 2012 - Rangoon, Bagan, Mandalay and Inle Lake - thoroughly enjoyed it, and I wrote some blog entries here on them too. Look forward to reading about your adventures there :D
2nd September 2017

East coast of Aus
The Bondi to Coogee walk is a lovely walk, and it's good that you went at this time of year as I've heard many stories of snakes loving the paths in summer! I totally understand getting weary and missing the loveliness of home (especially the kitties!), but I'm sure some downtime in Singers will pep you up for the next stage of your trip - your Mum's cooking will help too :)
3rd September 2017

I'm ready to go to Myanmar now....
I got the pick up I needed - one (painful) massage, an unexpected boost to my post-travel job search, plus family, friends, and food. I'm ready to tackle Myanmar. Despite the snakes, I want to do the Bondi to Coogee walk in the summer because there'll be more people milling around and they'll have less clothes on.... :-)

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb