My First Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 18th 2013
Published: January 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello Again,

Sydney is an amazing city; my first day couldn’t have been better. We did so much, even after the 15-hour flight. My flight was actually more enjoyable then I thought it would be, I slept a good amount and the flight attendants were very friendly. The flight also had minimal turbulence; takeoff and landing were very smooth also. After I landed, I went through customs with ease and picked up my bags. Seeing Tom after two and a half months was surreal;, his family is so great.

Upon leaving the airport they took me to Rush Cutters Bay to have lunch at the yacht club. We even got to walk to docks and some of the most famous winning boats were there. After lunch, we went to the hotel to drop our bags; we’re staying at the Savoy Double Bay Hotel. It’s a great little spot just outside of the downtown core.

For the rest of the day we ferried around downtown core and saw so much of Sydney, the day couldn’t have been better. It was 30 degrees and sunny, just a little different then Canada’s two-degree days. The ferry took us to Rose Bay before bringing us to Central Key Station, which is right beside the Sydney Opera House and the Harbor Bridge. The views were amazing. After that we switched ferries and went to one of the most amazing pools in the world; the North Sydney Olympic Pool. The pool is located right under the Harbor Bridge and just 30 feet from the ocean. The pool itself is salt water. I did a couple laps with Tom before getting some ice cream and heading back. I was exhausted. We ferried back to the Hotel and got ready to go out for an early dinner. We went to the Cosmopolitan Café across the street from our hotel. The food was delicious.

Today, the plan is to go to the world famous Bondi Beach. I am so excited to go there and see its glory. Later today, we will be driving to Port Macquarie, which is about 4 hours north of Sydney, and will be there for about a week.

Tom’s family is very great. They have been extremely welcoming and gracious. Even after one day I think I can say this trip will be amazing. Also, I think I need more adjectives, have I used amazing and great too many times? I miss my family very much, Mom and Dad love you, and I’ll be home soon.

That's all for now,

Jake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb