My Australia days are numbered...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 23rd 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Let me see your insides...Let me see your insides...Let me see your insides...

Aww look at this little fellow at the aquarium...
It was dejavu seeing the Harbour Bridge and Opera House again with Ian, last time it was with my dear brother and sister in law! Such a long time ago now...
I've been trying to do some new things whilst in Sydney, things that I haven't done before. For starters I am not staying at the YHA Central, instead I'm at Wake Up! and love it there so much, got some brilliant room mates...

Finally went to the Aquarium after wanting to go for ages! It was really cool there, made me want to be swimming again in the Great Barrier Reef and reminded me of how amazing that experience was...
Some of the fish looked like they were in a state of constant whistling, it was so cute...swimming about without a care in the world!

On Wednesday night we went to go and see The Wizard of Oz at the Opera House. It was incredible! They had the film playing on a big screen behind the Sydney Symphony Orchestra who were playing the music, it was beautiful...it's the same orchestra who will be playing when Ben Folds does his gig there in September...

Took the ferry across
Inside the 'house'...Inside the 'house'...Inside the 'house'...

I love this concept of orchestras playing the soundtrack to films, I hope to see more in the future...
to Manly again so Ian could get a good view of the 'house' and harbour bridge, although it was raining. The weather has been pretty rubbish here lately but is brightening up slowly. Manly looked so horrible with the bad weather and there is now heaps of construction work going on which added to its new unattractive canvas. Still, there were a few surfers down by the soggy beach. Met up with Fliss again (my first friend in Australia!) and we took Ian to have an amazing Cold Rock icecream, I agree with you Luke, it is a must if you go to Australia...ahhah...next stop, Boost Juice!

Last night I watched the Australia vs. Croatia match. Remember over here it was on at 5am! My room mates and I all set our alarms to watch it. It was quite funny when they all suddenly went off and we stumbled down to the comfy TV area in our pajamas. At first it was just us lot and one guy who had fallen asleep there, then Ian came down and later heaps more people added to the numbers there. I actually really enjoyed the match and the packet of Burger Bites
Mrs Macquerie's chair...Mrs Macquerie's chair...Mrs Macquerie's chair...

Apparantly this lady (haven't a clue who she is) loved to sit at this point years ago, this is before the opera house and bridge ever existed...
from Spar that my brother sent me! (Thankyou Nigel, i'm so up for burger bites and football when I return, bet you never thought I'd want to do that!) I wonder how far Australia will go in the World Cup, imagine the final being England vs. Australia...ahaha...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Jellyfish galore...Jellyfish galore...
Jellyfish galore...

I was amazed by these, so graceful, so elegant and bright pink...wow...


26th June 2006

Next stop!
Oh well time up Lucy in Australia! next stop New Zealand.........sure you will love it everyone I speak to says so!!! Have a safe flight and DRIVE CAREFULLY!!!!!!!!!!God Bless mum xxx
26th June 2006

World Cup
Cant wait to see you actually watch a match when you return then....if England get to the final, i'll be in Spain but i'll have my mobile so ring me...not long now sis and you'll be on that plane home, dont forget Joshuas balloon!!!! Laters PIB xx MMMWWAAHH
26th June 2006

5 months already! Wow - you've covered an awful lot of ground in that time, with still loads to go! Hope NZ is as much fun xx
6th July 2006

mmm ice cream
you're making me hungry for some cold rock ice cream!! Soon you'll be in CAnada and we can go to 'Dairy Queen' - nice! Hope you're having fun! sounds like it! See you soon!

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb