Back where it all began...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 18th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In just 7 days, I can make you a man...In just 7 days, I can make you a man...In just 7 days, I can make you a man...

Was hard to take photos as it was so dark but you can just about make out the scene here...
I am now back in Sydney. It was the beginning and now is the end of my great Australian adventure. Staying with my friend Lisa in North Sydney which is a lovely change from where I've always stayed in the city. She's let me have her double bed too which is fantastic! Have also got my own heater in the bedroom which I've been turning up to maximum and closing the door to get the room nice and toasty. I miss central heating!
On Friday night I went to see the Rocky Horror Picture Show at the cinema with Lisa and another friend from my Whitsunday sailing trip. It was incredible! So good to see it on the big screen and with actors in front of it. The actors were really young as well and really put the effort in with costumes and make up. It was fun with the audience participation, lots of shouting at the screen! I hope to see it in London though so I can dress up properly with some friends...haha...(you're Magenta remember Laura?). It was quite funny actually, Lisa went along having no idea what the film was about and was getting it confused with Little
Don't dream it, be it...Don't dream it, be it...Don't dream it, be it...

I love it, go rent Rocky Horror now...
Shop of Horrors...slightly different i think you'll find...

After Brisbane I went to Dreamworld which is a massive theme park along the Gold Coast. Went with this guy who I'd met in Airlie Beach and along the way down as we were stopping at the same places using the Greyhound. I had so much fun at the theme park...I can't remember the last time I went to one...probably with Choirwood I reckon when we would sing and get free entry..ahaha..
There was a really great one that took you up 39 stories high and dropped you (after leaving you in suspense for a good few minutes at the top!) at something like 130kms an hour! Man did I scream! I did actually have a sore throat slightly the next day! We went on one ride in the Nickelodeon section, the Angry Beavers ride, it was so tame but all the little kids on it were screaming at the top of their lungs for the sake of it, ear piercing it was...

Stayed at Byron Bay for a short while but started to feel a bit ill, the weather had turned not too good as well so I think
Fun times at Dreamworld...Fun times at Dreamworld...Fun times at Dreamworld...

I don't think Paul was too happy having his photo taken with Spongebob and Patrick, unlike me...
it may be part to do with that...I can't wait to get my coat again from my friend in Sydney, it's freezing in the evenings now in this Australian winter. Nothing compared to England winters and my next destination New Zealand though. I'm really looking forward to New Zealand now. At first I just kept thinking of how I'm leaving Australia and was getting a tad sad, but now I'm focused on the next part of my travelling adventure and am incredibly excited about it! Tomorrow my friend Ian from back home will be landing in Sydney (he's travelling New Zealand too) and I'm going to suprise him and meet him at the airport...ah it's going to be weird seeing someone from home but lovely at the same time of course. Plus it will be strange to be travelling with someone I actually know and not just 'me', like I have been for the past 5 months! I'll get used to it I'm sure and now can't wait to start our road trip! Ahhh New Zealand is so close I can smell it...

Advertisement



20th June 2006

Oh the days of Choirwood! Such fun!! I went to movie world, just next to dreamworld, when i was in brisbane, was pretty cool! Hope you have a fab time in New Zealand, and keep blogging! I really enjoy reading them, makes my boring day in the office a little more interesting! Love Liz xxx
20th June 2006

Autograph
Connor and Ellie definitely wanted Sponge Bob's autograph! (Squidwood looks a bit different between you and Patrick in the photo!).
20th June 2006

hey you
real busy, will read later and ring mmmmmwwwaaahhh xxxx pib
20th June 2006

I am the Auckland Ambassador
woo not long! i feel like the Ambassador for Auckland lol.. when you get here that meens ive seen you in UK, Australia and then New Zealand!...crazy. and yeah, get used to heaters! lol..who needs central heating when you have your own little heater by your side :) SEE YOU SOON! :D
21st June 2006

yes yes yes how could i ever forget I am magenta! I can't wait to see it with you!!!xx
21st June 2006

ALSO Rocky Horror is the last film we watched before u went away! missing you!
21st June 2006

Spongebob!!!
Noone told me Spongebob and Patrick lived in Australia otherwise I would have chucked this uni stuff and been their in a second! lol...I am deadly jealous of that picture tho! Sad Australia has to end for you but the stuff Ive heard from my bro bout New Zealand your sure to love it! Oh yeh and of course just as long as it reached (i dont trust my uni post) you'll have THE BEST mix CDs ever from me :) lol C ya late summer kiddo! Pipxx
22nd June 2006

Just finished reading all your journals !!
Hi Lucy, It's taken me a few hours to read all the journals... Fascinating reading, superb pictures - my favourite is the one of the trees in foggy Adelaide. You'll certainly savour these memories of new experiences: fruit, wine, chocolate cheese, kangaroo balls (yukk!) etc etc. Continue having an amazing - and safe - gap year. Enjoy it all. Lots of love xxxx
23rd June 2006

Hey!! Missin you loads
Heya from the gawthorn family :) its good to hear that you are having such a good time out there, love the picture with spongebob and patrick haha. Did you get our CD's? and if so did you get it was us - we tried to use songs that would make it blatently obvious! hope to hear more from you soon, luv ya loads x x x x
28th June 2006

hey lucy.....just a quick note to say good luck for your travels in NZ and your new adventures, its gonna be just as an amazing experience as Australia has been and I hope we hear all about it soon! Take care my dear and keep smiling and keep safe! All my love, layla xxx xxx

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb