So hard to say goodbye...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fun fun times...Fun fun times...Fun fun times...

Had many great times with these two, Jenny on left and Fliss on the right, going to miss them heeeaaaps...
Well my first chapter of travelling is almost over. I had no idea I would fall in love with Australia this much! I am just fascinated by its diversity and range of people who all seem to be happier and friendlier because of the weather I think! It's amazing to think I have been here for nearly 5 and a half months, all of which has flown by so fast yet I've still had time to do everything that I wanted to and not feel rushed. I'm leaving Western Australia (which is like half of the country!) for when I return...

The last few days in Sydney have been more about the evenings and sleeping in. My whole dorm gets on soooo well and we've been going out as a group all the time, therefore all waking up late! On Friday we went to a birthday party, well the hostel's birthday party...4 years old! It was so cute, they had birthday banners everywhere and gave out free birthday cake! Twas very funny when we all had to sing happy birthday to the hostel...ahaaha...

Saturday Ian and I went to Paddy's Markets, bought some last few Australia themed items to
Come on England...Come on England...Come on England...

Made use of some facepaint to support our country, man I loved getting my face painted when I was little...
post home and finally a new watch at a bargain of $5! In the evening we went and watched the closing ceremony of the Sydney Film Festival. The film was absolutely hilarious. It was called Thankyou For Smoking, go check it out as it is so funny... Everyone was dressed up there as they were handing out awards too, felt a bit out of place...

My day before last day (sunday) in Sydney I spent the entire day catching up with some friends who I've met along the way on my travels. My German friend Daniela cooked me a 3 course traditional German meal! It was delicious, she even made all the pasta from scratch! Of course there was a frankfurter in the main course... It was so kind of her to do that for me and was wonderful to see her again and look at the photos from the outback tour where we met! After leaving Daniela's house I took the train across the Harbour Bridge to Chatswood where I met Fliss. Went to her church for the last time and saw Jenny there too. (They were both my first friends when arriving to Australia all that time
Not my usual attire...Not my usual attire...Not my usual attire...

Thankyou mum for sending over some patriotic underwear...
ago!) We went and got some food with some of their other friends, was great to speak and be amongst all Australians just before I leave. Fliss and Jenny drove me back to the city for the last time and dropped me right outside Wake Up where we took heaps of photos and had many hugs including some group ones...man I'm going to miss seeing them, but I'm sure our paths will cross again some day...

After saying goodbye I met with everyone from the hostel again and started to feel all patriotic before the footbal match began! Didn't enjoy this match as much compared to the last Australia one, but still am glad we won! Will be cheering for Australia though on my last night in this wonderful land...what perfect timing...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Wake Up Wake Up!...Wake Up Wake Up!...
Wake Up Wake Up!...

There's speakers in every dorm which blares out 'Wake Up Wake up!' in the afternoon, informing everyone of what's happening that evening in the Side Bar on the ground floor...this is Jenny and I paying a tribute to waking up...


26th June 2006

Handy eh!
Fantastic to see you wearing the pants but.....excuse me....is that guy touching your bum..........!!!!!!!!....... Have fun mum xxx
26th June 2006

Is it a bird.....
Is it a plane .....no its Super Lucy and her Briget Jones pants How attractive thinks the bloke behind you! Glad you enjoyed your burger bites xx
26th June 2006

Nigels Pants
Lucy - Nigel tells me he's been looking for his England pants the whole of the World Cup! Now he know's who nicked them!!!
26th June 2006

see you...
TOMORROW! AHHH!!
26th June 2006

amazing photos. i'm excited about seeing you! xx

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb