Ta Cheree!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 13th 2011
Published: December 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ms. Johnson began our pen-pal writing project with the Australian class half-way through my 6th grade year. I imagine our writing skills were proficient enough at that time to begin a pen-palship. Since the sixth grade (11 years old) I have been exchanging written letters to Cheree . During the middle and high school years, the letters were copious and we wrote books to each other, dozens of times throughout the year. We have slowly tapered the quantity of writing over the years, but now at least two to four letters are exchanged per year in our adulthood. However, even if the letters are fewer each year the quality of letter has only improved. From the early years until now, when we write snail-mail, the envelope always arrives in an eye-catching envelope covered in bright stickers and doodles including glitter, sparkles, marker, stamps, colored pencils and more. At this point it is a creative outlet for the both of us and we continue to hold onto our childhood through this medium.

Cheree was in year five (10 years old) when we first began writing and over the years we have accumulated shoe boxes of letters that has evolved into a diary read by a living, breathing person. Until this point, I knew Cheree on paper and through pictures. The friendship is difficult to describe because we knew each other so well, but never met.

At Last We Meet!

Surprisingly, my Aunt Stacey and I actually held our word and were up at 6am for a brisk jog around the Harborside. It was fulfilling to see the sunrise as we passed by the Opera House, Harbor Bridge, Botanic Gardens, fruit sellers setting up stalls(as my stomach growled) and business people beginning another day at the job. The jog was also a great release of nerves as I set out on my own by subway, ferry and bus (with exceptionally large pack) to the Taronga Zoo to meet my pen-pal of sixteen years, Cheree.

Waiting at the Taronga Zoo entrance for the meet-up was nerve wrecking and exciting. I sat on a bench until an unfamiliar voice called my name and I turned to see a face from thousands of pictures. It meant so much to me to be here meeting my pen-pal along with her Mom and little sister. I felt so proud of us for never stopping our pen-palship, for never giving up or for being too busy for one another. This moment has been coming for a long time and actually living it was overwhelming to the point it made my whole body shake. Too easily my eyes filled with tears and my heart with nervous laughter. What an awkward feeling to give for a first impression!

From here it was natural, Cheree and I slipped into a neverending conversation for the next five days. For the following account I must impress my gratitude for an amazing hostess. Cheree made me comfortable in her home, with her very posh friends and in a very unfamiliar country. Through her generosity and organized planning skills, we accomplished a hefty list of tourism and local activities in New South Wales.

Taronga Zoo and Manly

Comparing the Taronga Zoo to the Denver Zoo makes Denver look ghetto. The Taronga Zoo is arranged on a hillside with views of the amazing Sydney skyline and comfortable animal displays while Denver's circular orientation seems puny and displays are cramped for the animals. The first animals I viewed were a couple of lazy koalas all curled up in their tree, munching on eucalyptus leaves. We moved through all the displays in the entire zoo and I managed to catch the last glimpse of a fourteen foot python swallowing a rabbit. The elephants recently had babies and were eating vegetables as we passed. Gorillas were racing to collect food hidden in areas throughout their perimeter then eating in very seperate areas. An old Kodiak bear made me depressed as he lathargicly swung his head to sniff here, sniff there then sighing back to floor for a lifetime of boredom. The tiger was anticipating a feed and his pacing close to the glass allowed a long, close view of his majestic eyes, distinct fur pattern, teeth, claws and massive paws. Snakes of Australia was another favorite display and giraffes really made me appreciative of the animal kingdom. Tracey, Cheree's mom, shares the same conflicting view for zoos that I do. Its hard to watch them in captivity, but Cheree continuously reminded us that most were rescue animals.

One of the people nearest and dearest to Cheree's heart, her little sis, Gemma, and adorable friend, Willa, allowed me the pleasure of their company at the zoo. I questioned them about school, mouth retainers and animals and they happily accompanied me to feed the Wallabies. Right when the girls were getting comfortable with me we were nearing the end of our tour of the Toranga Zoo. To end the long walk, we enjoyed the gondola ride to view the Sydney skyline and animal exhibits from above.

After the zoo, Cheree and I stopped off at her house to casually polish off a bag of Wave Grain chips (similar to Sunchips, but more dense) and rest while watching the hilariouse British humor show called the IT Crowd. Next, we went to a restaurant called Insitro for a tastey dinner and drinks where I was able to put together more characters from the letters when I met her friends. Jess came first, shivering in her black mini skirt and gushing with the latest development of the apartment that she and Cheree will share. We ordered food and I took a recommendation from Jess for the Vego Stack (pictured, mmmm....)

Next, Lissa arrived and quietly familiarized me with her job as a massage therapist and made small talk with the new girl (me). Last, Helen arrived after a hectic day at work for a cocktail to end the work week. At this time Helen asked me my favorite question from the entire trip: "Sooo...those Walmart people (referring to the forwarded email pictures of disgusting Walmart constumers with poop stains on their sweat pants, etc.), are they real??" (LOL- and yes those are real American people!) All the girls were very polite and welcoming, everyone was curious about the relationship between Cheree and I. Its always a bit awkward explaining these things to people because it can be a bit revealing, but usually the reaction is of astonishment and generally leaves a good impression.

The evening finished with meeting an excited Laurien and her friendly boyfriend at a local bar for a reggae band. I enjoyed a little hippy dance and another drink before heading back to Cheree's apartment to fall into bed, exhausted from yet another emotional day.

Hunter Valley

An early start to the morning and we arrived at Circular Quay at 7:30 am by means of a taxi ride from Cheree's friendly Uncle. From there, we caught a tour bus with the company "Activity" and met a jolly, talkative driver and likeable group of tourists. By 8:30 we were on our way to Hunter Valley.

The first vineyard we visited was Savannah at about 11:30am. This is where Cheree introduced me to Moscato! A sweet, bubbly dessert drink was presented and made the list on my favorites. Next, we were bussed off to Iron Gates where the pompous presenter made us sit outside and shiver. He then thought he would be Mr. Funny Guy and pick on the American. His presentation of the wines made me further dislike this ass with his superiority complex and salesman like approach. Unfortunately, the wines we tasted we very good. Of any wine in Australia so far, I have never tasted such clear and complex flavors in one sip. Although, I prefer red most of the time I have a hard time enjoying a Syrah because I'm spoiled on Argentinean Malbec with puckering tannins and flavors like cherry and coffee. The Syrah just seems watered down, so I did buy a dessert Semillion from the ass-hole who I still dislike. Oh well.

Next, we were off to lunch in a tourist village with little shops and restaurants. After a mediocre lunch at a home-style inspired restaurant we walked to the chocolate shop for a tasting. It was here where I found the amazing hibiscus flowers in syrup! The same drink that Kona Grill (in Denver) serves with champagne! I had one of these drinks just before leaving because I knew it would be a month until I could order it again. Now, I get to take a whole jar home with me!! What a great find, Ta Cheree for pointing it out to me!



We were full at this point from lunch and fudge, but a cheese tasting was on the schedule. The cheese tastings were amazing and Cheree, with much excitement, bought a sample of the goat feta marinated in pesto. There was also an artichoke flavor in cow cheese, a sun-dried tomato flavor and a triple brie! Wow, if I had the means to store and savor this cheese I would have loved to purchase several....by far my favorite!

By the last vineyard, Ernest Hill, I could have collapsed. It was a full day of wine drinking and eating. At this vineyard, the wine all tasted the same to me with nothing really standing out. The team was oustandingly the most friendly and warm. I would have probably bought from them had I not been completely stuffed and uncomfortable.

The Hunter Valley also provided great scenery, but the relentless wind and cold really tired me out fast. Also, seeing yet another vineyard (reference to Mendoza, Argentina 2008) in winter with no leaves or grapes left me a little eager for my next trip to a vineyard. Great day and grateful for the companionship.

Local Excursions

For the next two days I spent just enjoying my friend in face-to-face interactions and following her normally scheduled events. It was a welcome reprieve for all the excitement to take a couple of days to spend very simply. I was able to wake up and go for a run along the Manly beach walk, where surfers in wet suits were catching a wave first thing in the morning. To my disappointment, not manly dogs along the walkway and on the beach.

I attended the Beacon Hill versus Avalon soccer match at Beacon Hill where I finally witnessed Cheree's aggressive skills as a quick defender on the field. Her team won, but a very disapproving Cheree met me after the game to convince me the score should have been much higher, spoken like a true sports nut! Her team had possession of the ball so much there was hardly any need for serious defense, so there wasn't much action for the proficient fullback, but it was still fun to find out how fast she is! Keeping up with my active pen-pal reminded me much how I operate in my busy home-life. As soon as we got back to her apartment, it was time for a little pole lesson.

The lovely Cheree, arranged for a group of us to have a the talented expertise of one pole instructor from her studio for a private group lesson. It was my first time doing this type of exercise and after the experience I have to say, I want to continue with the challenge. I was able to fly through some of the basic moves until I was met with a very difficult challenge of upside down V, with just legs holding me up. It was slippery and I would fall every time. (The day after I was sore in muscle groups that I never use and mostly in my obliques in the abs! Oh yea, I have to keep this going when I get back to the states.) For dinner, a vegetarian restaurant called Emilias. Another opportunity for me to stuff my face with tastey food and pass out.

More local excursions included some shopping in Manly at little boutiques where I picked up some lovely gifts. Cheree also showed me the local mall where we ate Sushi Train!!! The wonderful quick, bar seating restaurant where the sushi just rolls on by and you grab whatever you like and pay at the end. I ate four bowls of delicious sushi and could have kept going. It was a teaser and there must be one somewhere in the states.



To end the chill day, Cheree enjoyed another pole class and I discovered yoga in Australia. It was a restorative class, but even for restorative I found the level to be unfullfilling. Also, the man snoring and gurgling loudly inthe room destroyed any chance I had at enjoying my shvansana. I still have hopes for a better yoga experience.

Blue Mountains

Ahh... the mountians. For this Colorado girl to see the mountains made me really happy. It was chilly with many sights to see in these eye-catching little hills. There were many waterfalls and often ferns would catch my eye because they seemed so out of place in the mountain area. The main attraction was the Three Sisters rock formation. I loved reading the Aboriginal legend behind the stones (check your local guide book). We hiked until our feet ached and stomach's growled then made stop for snacks and drinks.

Although the mountains were nothing like Colorado they still held a respectful mountain beauty unlike anything in Colorado. If I had three days I would love to wander off the beaten path with my backpack and tent (and boyfriend preferably) to find wild kangaroos and hidden waterfalls. It was enticing to say the least . When comparing mountain areas I hate to admit anything more beautiful than Colorado, so forgive me for the bias I hold. I still recommend that all tourists enjoy a day in the mountains no matter where they come from!

The fun mountain adventure we had concludes my time with my pen-pal until my flight out of the country. Cheree was an amazing hostess and great friend to finally meet. When I get back to the states I hope to find several of my elementary school teachers to express my appreciation for providing me with the dreams to make my life so fulfilling.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



28th December 2011

Oh my god Jamie! I am LOVING this amazing tale of written friendship and finally meeting in person! Way cool. I'm totally inspired!
1st January 2012

Thanks Ang!
...and as you know I am a huge fan of your blogs too. The more I write the more I think to add. Its never ending, but super fun. I'm trying to decide if my next blog should be local tales from Denver (kinda like yours) or teacher tales. ???

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb