Walk Left Look Right


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
July 12th 2011
Published: August 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The second day in Sydney started with more adjustments of the Aussie culture including traffic rules, nuances in English language differences and coffee ordering experimentation. Because the long black seems too strong, and I'm not a big fan of milk, getting the right amount of espresso to milk ratio challenges the baristas here and takes some back-and-forth when ordering. Coffee culture is Sydney is literally black or white. From my masters program at the University of Colorado at Denver (UCD), I have learned a lot about myself, my family history. Hanging with my Aunt Stacey in Sydney provided further lessons and insight about these important topics as well as some important shopping discussions and tourism.

As several of my readers know, my devoted boyfriend, Dain, and I have been together for almost five adventurous years. We are aware of the question on everyone's lips and its not something we don't talk about once in awhile. Dain is patient and studious in many ways and as a hobby he enjoys the laborious skill of geology. Knowing this, it is not surprising when he presented to me a fact of Australia, "Did you know, 95% of the world's opals are exported from Australia?" Before departing for my Australian adventure he followed this inquiry with a request that did surprise me: "When you're there....pick one out." Daino sent me on an optional mission that completely surprised me! Being a tourist is tricky and I do loathe a scammer, so I am approaching the mission with a steady flow of apprehension. This mission requires an accomplice and who better to recruit than my Aunt Stacey!

My Aunt Stacey is my Mom's sister, thirteen years Mom's junior. Mom has always said how much I take after her sisters in different ways. I'm like Carla, Mom's older sister, with my athleticism and stubbornness, but adventurous spirit and spicy attitude are like Stacey. Getting to hang with Stacey as a grown-up has been so cool because she has the experience and the answers to unlock the family photo album. Stacey is also a wander-luster for life and can retell the (now) laughable horror stories and the experiences that drive jealously! From my studies at the University of Colorado at Denver, I have come to appreciate family heritage and understanding my family history. Through my Aunt, who I have had little time with it was amazing how the stories of family rolled off her tongue and taught me a different perspective from the same story.

During the time before the Bridge Climb my Aunt Stacey and I reconnected while shopping and walking through Hyde Park. Through family tales and asserting each of our very distinct opinions, we learned how family traits can run through the generations. Catching up with her 15 years of experience in Australia with her husband (John) and growing son, ("Cousin Ben") and family dog, Frisco, along with conversations about work/ education, travel and Aussie versus American culture, we had a lot ot talk about.
The main character in my life, Dain, mostly dominated the stories I had to share. But, I also had the opportunity to introduce a new set of characters through Dain including: Lorraine, Forbes, Justin, Debbie, Kat, Geni, Kyle and Justine, Tracey and Neil and of course Frances and George. My immediate family was not left out. Mom, Sailor, Dad, Brandi, Bro and Simone... and Porter; I enjoyed updating Stacey about all the accomplishments and challenges we've faced over the last couple of years. I loved talking about all the important people in my life, love you all! It was a comfortable and ongoing conversation that I will look forward to returning to when I make my way through Brisbane.

Wrapped up in conversation, it was suddenly time to bundle up for the Sydney Harbor Bridge Climb. Quickly we hopped in a cab to the check-in and summed up the people in our group. Phew, all capable happy people. (Although, there was one girl from Wisconsin who couldn't be more unimpressed.) The Bridge Climb is expensive ($200 +), the entire time we priced out each extent of where the money went. For the most part, the entire production was catered to highly incompetent tourists and you'll find most of the below information about the production, not the actual climb.

After the check-in, we were ushered to the upstairs waiting area, where a safety and information video plays. Then, an employee takes us into a room for a breathalizer test and paperwork. After everyone is legitimately sober and signs away their life, the next room situates the group of twelve on yellow dots where we are assigned a bridge climb suit and wind pants. Very serious and demanding instructions are given as to how to get dressed and we are then moved into a private booth for changing and lockers.
Now, a new person takes over the group and leads the grey-uniformed clad of tourists across the building to another assigned standing spot. Here we receive belts and more safety on how to do everyday human rituals. Surprisingly, the employee actually gave instructions on how to use gloves, fleece jackets, handkerchiefs and beanies. For those of us Vampires who can't look into the sun, the company provides a means of attaching "sunnies" to you (a revolutionary lanyard, wow!) Everyone tests the equipment on a practice staircase that replicate the stairs to the bridge climb. We hook our advanced caribeaner to a cable and practice climbing stairs. The final stage in preparation is the radio and earphones, (again overemphasized instructions for simple tasks) so the guide can communicate a dialogue of history in the windy environment.

Contrary to popular rumor among my American friends, we are not attached in a death wish to the strangers in front of us. (Yay!) An hour after arrival, the belts are latched onto a cable that will take us up a series of stairs towards the top. Along the way, the history of certain aspects of the bridge are accounted.

Since no cameras are allowed (idiot insurance for the hundreds of cars and buses rushing below us on the bridge) there are three spots to stop for pictures. The guide was very patient and allowed for all my idiocy including the senior picture pose, the distant contemplative pose, the yoga pose, the excited tourist, plus the many retakes because of the wind blowing hair and hat everywhere. All poses were repeated each opportunity, then I took several with Aunt Stacey by my side. In the end, Stacey and I decided the $200 expense went for the photo ops and the safety measures.

Overall, the scariest part of the climb was the initial surfacing above the bridge where cars and buses zoom by you as you're concentrating on setting one foot on top of the other in the steep ladder ascent. Our guide was very thorough with safety, preparation, equipment, history and then he just said, " See ya up there," and away we went to stop for pictures with the city backdrop, the opera house and along a crossover railing at the top. There was a handrail the entire way up and people stationed at certain areas to space us out. We spent quite a bit of time at the top just looking and listening to random facts sputtered over my earphones. The hike was not strenuous, it was slow up the steep part and the actual bridge steps were shallow and wide. If I had my camera, I would have been snapping hundreds of pics! As it turns out, the pictures the guide takes cost an astounding $25 for one to $65 for four!! We all were sucked into that tourist trap and thank you Stacey for the purchase!!

Most budget travelers would contemplate the cost with one quick disregard for the value. Although, I thought I would be one of those people, I had a fun, exciting person to go up with, (which makes a huge difference). Also, getting to climb any bridge anywhere in the world is not common. Really, it depends on the person and if you enjoy traveling for scenery versus common city experiences like shopping, eating, drinking, etc. When it comes down to Sydney, the city offers everything all other cities offer except for this pricey excursion. All in all, the cost was steep, but I absolutely loved the experience! The city of Sydney is an absolute beauty and seeing everything from the top of a bridge is a rartiy in the world. Besides, the first time some idiot dies from the fool-proof system will be the end of the entire operation. So, I recommend ya get it while ya can!

The Rocks

The bridge climb left me ravenous and excited. The stroll in the trendy "Rocks" area (equivalent would be the Denver Highlands area with a higher-end spin) started off as a scouting mission for dinner. As it turns out we had happy hour cocktails at The Argyle/ Bazar and an "Entree" (appetizers in America) of Calamari. Since the happy hour was so great, we raced to the hotel to grab more money, and raced back to order two more rounds.

Finally, after a successful happy hour we moved on to dinner where the two of us ate our weight in salad, garlic bread, pizza, pasta and wine. It was well done and more important conversation topics were covered like the Daniel Radcliffe debate, I still defend my position that he fell short as Harry Potter! Also, several rounds of arguing about Heath Ledger's hair color in 10 Things I Hate About You ended when Stacey used her husband to "phone a friend." She was correct, the hair was brown!

The excitement of the day and fullness from the food sent us crashing into bed in the warm and modern Ibis. I was so content and at the same time beginning to encounter nerves for the next day when I would meet my pen-pal of sixteen years. It was also decided that we must get up early and go for a run because of all the food intake.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb