Sydney 5th Test


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 11th 2011
Published: January 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As soon as I arrived on an overnight train (no sleep what so ever) I headed straight to the SCG to the sold out game, so purchased a $60 ticket for $100 (this is why all my money is vanishing) had a good first day, but it rained a little, as I'd paid so much didn't go the next two days, just watched it on tv and caught up a bit of sleep. Headed down the 4th day which was a great day and very good atmosphere seeing Prior make his ton. 5th day was awesome the Barmy Army were cheering from the moment they walked in until they walked out. The celebrations were a little disappointing they just walked passed the Barmy Army and didn't linger for very long. I think they did a bit more in Melbourne. Headed back the hostel and just drank for the rest of the day. If i went to where the Barmy Army were I would have been skint.

The rest of my Sydney experience was trying to recover from constant nights out, unable to say no to a free drink. I did head to the opera house and took some pictures and
5th Test5th Test5th Test

Introductions
of the Harbour bridge. Got a little cloudy as it always does with me around so the pictures don't do it justice. Went to Bondi hung over and again cloudy, tried to sun tan when the sun did pop out, but unsuccessful. It was a nice beach, but looked like any other, the water was cold ( did go at about 4pm) and the waves were pretty big a powerful, knocked me over a few times. Managed to scavenge a free ticket up the tower so got a birds out view of Sydney which was cool. Quite a big city, with lots of suburbs around.

Whilst I was there they had some festival going on in the city centre and I caught a bit of it as it was a free festival and man there were millions of people there. I tried to watch this one band and could get no where near them. I was like 3 blocks away, it was ridiculous so headed back to the main stage where you could sit down on the grass and just chill. Was good but strange as roads were blocked off. Not sure if they do anything like that in London, but would be cool to do.

Strangely I bumped into a friend from back home in the supermarket (Grimmy) and he has just moved a few weeks ago to live and work for a year and then bumped into him again at the sports bar to watch Utd beat the Liverpool scum in the FA Cup good night. Sydney was nice and will be heading back there as i have to fly out to Christchurch, so might see Manly beach on the way out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

5th Test5th Test
5th Test

First Day


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb