Door to door training..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 17th 2009
Published: December 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

ughhhhhh training day.. yay. Time to shadow some Israelis all day and watch them repeatedly knocking on people's doors only for the door to be slammed in their face! I was to be picked up from central station at 2. It was super hot today so I wore my denim skirt and a strap top, I don't care if it was over dressed there is no way I can wear jeans or leggings in this weather! I got to central station and my team leader Itay rings me saying he'll be there in 15 minutes, so I go in the internet cafe for a bit. Marc rings me and says he is stood with Zoebird across the road also waiting to be picked up by their team leaders, so I go over and join them. Eventually one by one Zoe's van arrives, then Marcs.. and I'm just left there. Trust my team to be the last to arrive, such a bore having to wait! Eventually they find me and I squeeze into a car filled with 6 other Israelis. They're all predictably Israeli-esque.. long shaggy hair, tanned.. completely eccentric and don't hold back on anything they say. My team leader Itay seems nice enough as do the others. So we stop at this petrol station and I buy a big pack of crisps right.. and in the car I offer them one. I learnt never ever ever offer Israelis your food, they will KEEP eating it. I don't do sharing food so for them to keep putting their hands in was discomforting. Call me selfish but I just wasn't used to this behaviour! English people NEVER do that unless asking.. they didn't even ask. At one point I put the crisps away and one guy was like 'Hey get those crisps back out, I want more'.. WTF. So I was honest, I was like wow you don't hold back, I'm not used to people being so upfront, English are much more reserved and polite! I guess it's just the way they were brought up and they would quite willingly share their food with me, I just wasn't used to it.

So after a bit of a drive we all arrive at the depot where we pick up our paintings we're selling. We get there and the 2 other teams are there with Zoebird and Marc. I spot a couple of cuties in Zoes team.. she clearly got the better deal! She also pointed out the one she lusted after.. he was pretty. Had awful long hair but a really stunning face. So once everyone had said hi and introduced themselves to me and collected their paintings.. we split off again. Marc's van went to the west and mine and Zoebirds went north. It was a longggg journey and eventually we arrived about 4ish. He showed the others the routes they were doing and one by one everyone got out the car, I was eventually left with one guy called Etamar who I was to be watching. We arrived in an absolutely gorgeous are with huge houses, Itay showed us the route we were doing and then left. Etamar always starts with a cigarette so we chilled outside a house for a bit. It was already baking and sweat was forming everywhere on my body, was NOT looking forward walking around in this heat for the next 4 hours! So we started and it wasn't going too well, predictably everyone was 'not interested' despite his best efforts. People weren't overly rude though, in fact they were pretty polite, I expect Australians are nicer than English people. At home you get 'fuck off' and a door slam. So we trecked around.. and gradually I started feeling faint from the sun and fed up from Etamar getting nowhere. It really was physically and mentally draining, and I wasn't even doing it yet! The paintings looked super heavy as well.. I really wasn't getting inspired to do this job at all! More depressingly, most people were like 'sorry I've got the kids in the pool in the back, I don't have time for this right now'. What I would give to be in a swimming pool at that moment omg! My water had gone all warm and minging and I was completely fed up. Eventually after a couple of hours one girl shows interest in a a 'cheeky dog' painting. It was pretty cute but completely stupid. After him doing a long ass presentation and a lot of sweet talking, and a second opinion from her HOT HOT brother.. she finally decides to get it! As a present for her future husband who she's marrying next week. Woohoo result! He didn't sell it for very much but at least it was SOMETHING and shows that you can actually get results.

Itay comes and collects us both and tells me I will now be working with another guy called Ido, however it's spelt. I got dropped off and instantly noticed how different this area was. It was definitely not as posh as the other and the houses reminded me of the ones on home and away. Ido was quite a character and he could tell I was bored crapless and kept fidgeting and then was like 'you look like you're about to go out'... errr I was wearing a denim skirt and strap top! Not my fault my boobs are huge and stick out in whatever I wear ffs. So whenever he made little remarks (which he didn't think were rude it's just the way Israelis are and will always speak their mind) I would just defend myself.. damn rude! However by the end it was okay and we were singing and dancing on the street. He didn't manage to sell anything and by the time it was dark a thunderstorm was brewing and I was actually scared for my life.. lightning was full on striking! Eventually once the downpour came we hid in the shelter of someones house who wasn't home. I know it's rude but the rain was full on silly and unbearable.. after like an hourrrr we eventually get picked up by Itay. The rest of the team haven't had much luck either, not good! We arrive back at the depot and Zoebird is there with her team, she says she's been invited to go for drinks in Bondi and I should come... so I thought fuckit, yes I should. I get in the van with her lot and they're actually all really good fun. I felt a lot more relaxed with hers than mine. We arrived at their apartment and we were greeted by 2 other guys who are in the company, they are like 'we're gay, a couple. we've been together since school'. So me and Zoebird were like aww that's cute, or at least we THOUGHT it was. After a bit of chillout at their apartment Eli (Zoebird's teamleader) took us all to the city for some drinks. We ended up at an awesome latin bar called la cita. We auto got on the vodka lemonades and had a big of a dance.. The guy Zoe fancies was getting all up close and personal with some blonde thing.. ugh!

Then we're stood with the gay couple and it looked a bit iffy between them so I was like what's up, and one of them says 'he thinks I'm looking at other guys and is getting pissed off. tell him i'm not looking at other guys'.. so I was like errr what.. next thing the other guy goes and chats up this girl, so I'm like wtf is going on here. Then they're like HAHA WE'RE NOT REALLY GAY....

...........
...................
w.t.f.?! Why would anyone pretend they were gay, how bloody ridiculous and pointless. Israeli humour.. idgi! anywayyyyyy then some guy called asaf (who i think is actually the cutest in the company) asks for Zoebirds number! GO ZOE.. but just as they're swapping numbers the one who she likes comes over and grabs her hand and is like 'lets have a dance'.. check her with the israelis fighting over her! and then he's like I'll get you a drink and takes her to the bar for a drink with his arm round her, bloody cute. So then everyone disappears and apparently went home and I'm left with her team leader Eli.. zoebird and whatsiface have pissed off upstairs so I go and find them and they're all upclose and personal snugglebirds and I'm like 'are you coming with me or not, if not I'm getting a lift back with Eli now' ... surprise surprise she isn't! So me and Eli leave and he has a chat with me in the car saying how I shouldn't give up on the job because I have the confidence and personality to pull it off. Plus because I'm a girl and British it's a huge advantage.. so I'm just like blah I'll think about it. I get inside and tell Marc all about tonights events! Next thing Zoebird rings me saying she's coming back in a taxi, WITH him. Lucky cow. They arrive soon after, but no shocker that I didn't really see much of them..

So Marc is on the phone to his sweetpea talking sweet nothings which just depresses me even more.. and I was just like FML. So I ring my good friend Adele to bitch about lifes unfairness.. it was so good to talk to her! Haven't actually spoken on the phone since I travelled so it was damn good to hear a voice from home. Good old Dellywebbles.. Soon passed out after that, CYA.

yea x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb