Cotton On...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
December 16th 2009
Published: December 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we all had a relatively good lie in.. Zoe and Marc had their training day with the door to door Israelis today, and I had my interview for Cotton On! Luckily it wasn't until 3pm so I had plenty of time to prepare. So I dressed up super nicely. I wore my trendy goat dress from Top Shop and I made an effort putting my extensions in. Feeling relatively confident I made my way to the interview. It was at harbourside shopping centre which was gorgeous and a really nice walk, but of course I arrived too early. Had a quick 20 minute session on facebook in an internet cafe and then arrived at Cotton On. First thing I noticed was the collection of teens stood outside also dressed nicely and a few holding portfolio folders.. when I say teens I'm talking like 16-18. Holy hell not good. So eventually Melissa who I spoke to on the phone yesterday arrives, she explains that it's actually a group interview (goddamn I hate group interviews). We all go to the interview room and after about 2 minutes I feel more relaxed. We predictably had to individually introduce ourselves and explain about our lives which I am more than willing to tell anyone! As you know, I can talk for England. I discovered I WAS the oldest person in the interview there (bar Melissa). After we all relaxed she then told us we had to make some origami in 30 seconds and can only fold the paper 7 times, once folded we then had to write our names on it. I was a little unsure of what the actual purpose of this was but turns out it was just for her to learn our names, RIDIC. thennnn we all had to be put in groups and each do a presentation for each other on why we want to work for cotton on, blah. Same old same old.. I think I did relatively well promoting mine, whereas the girl who did me was shit and forgot everything I told her to say!

About an hour and half later Melissa finally tells us about the positions available, there were 2 christmas casual jobs and we could also apply for permanent jobs in January.. The christmas one was to start this Friday which would be ideal and there's always hope to carry on after xmas, so naturally I applied for that. The only problem was the location was about an hour from where I live and Melissa knew this. There was 4 of us that applied for it and I didn't get it because she said it was too far for me to travel, bloody stupid! Annoying because one girl she DID pick had the personality of an overly cooked spud. She barely spoke the entire interview, I don't get it! She did say she'll definitely put me forward when openings become available in January though.. so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Anyway after my fabulous mildly unsuccessful interview I set off into the city. Thought it was about time I got my medicare card sorted. Basically everyone here needs a medicare card.. because it makes medical expenses here a hell of a lot cheaper. After having to spend $60 just to see a damn doctor on Monday because my eye flared up again, and then spend more for the anti-biotics.. I realised it was about time to get mine. I went to the medicare centre and enrolled, they said they will send it me within the next week, woohoo! After this I was a little clueless on what to do because Zoebird and Marc aren't back until very late that night, so I just went to the internet cafe. Stayed there for literally hours doing very unproductive things but it passed the time. About 8pm I realised I should head home, at least Dave and Paul would be there! At least I thought they were.. Got home and NO-ONE was about. I think those 2 were in bed, lame. So I just sat in the lounge watching t.v for hours. I can't remember exactly what I watched apart from one Spanish film which turned out to be actually awesome, thank god for subtitles. Zoebird and Marc eventually arrived back and they're feeling crappy about the job, said it is a lot harder than it looks but they're gonna keep on at it. Zoebird says she fancies one of the Israeli guys on her team, oy vey! so at least that kept her entertained for the day. They weren't in the least bit inspired by the job though. My turn to be trained tomorrow.. woopeeee! Eventually we all just went to bed, how fun are we.

tataaaa x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb