In need of moisturizer


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 12th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After two days of busy shopping around the suburbs, we have finally got our Internet and phone set up. Phew. We want to see the real Sydney!

It is warm but cloudy today. We decided to spend the day in Sydney Central, hoping to see the metropolitan side of it. To get there, we need to take the train.

Boo - the train station is so old and dark. Graffiti is all over the place. Train tickets are sold manually at the station windows with only ONE ticket machine. Old school. Who said Octopus card was invented by the Australian?

After 20 mins train ride, we finally got to Circular Quay. Street entertainments, tourists, water taxis, and the Opera house. Not bad, but not too impressive. Seawall in Vancouver is nicer.

Having said that, we still had a lot of fun walking around Circular Quay, collecting tourist information, learning the streets, seeing the people and touring around Central Business District and China town. Of all these areas, I like The Rocks, which is a historic area with lots of coffee shops and bakery around. Sitting in front of the sparkling harbour and the world famous Opera House with a cup of warm Cappuccino - what more can you ask for?

Our camera died very soon after we got there. We'll show more pictures next time!

This morning I got a call from one of the many recruiters that I sent resume to. Excited because it has only been 3 days since I arrived, but at the same time a bit nervous and worried - when will I be able to find a job? I cannot focus on planning for our tours until I get myself a job secured.

P.S. Sydney is so dry that I see the scratch marks on my leg when I take off the jeans @_@




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Rest area along the harbourRest area along the harbour
Rest area along the harbour

Kind of like TST in HK


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb