Ausie adventures, part one.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 18th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sydney Harbour view from the zooSydney Harbour view from the zooSydney Harbour view from the zoo

can you spot the mountain goat?

Sunny Sydney!



Well I've had my first week in Sydney, Australia. I spent the first two nights in the city and did some sight seeing generally getting my bearings. I went to the botanical gardens last Wednesday and thoroughly enjoyed the open space and greenery, I was craving that after Hong Kong. The gardens were beautiful and lead down to the harbour, where the iconic sight of the opera house and the infamous bridge await you as you round the corner at the bottom of the gardens.
Some friends, Richard and Tina then came and met me on Thursday and I spent the next five days with them a short drive out of Sydney in the suburbs. I had a lovely time with them and they really made me so welcome and showed me lots of the area around north Sydney. We saw lots of beautiful beaches and on Sunday we went on a ferry from Manly beach to circular quay and out on another boat to another gorgeous bay. Monday I spent the day at the zoo which I loved and saw my first Koala and Kangaroo...ah.
On Tuesday I went back into the
MeerkatsMeerkatsMeerkats

This is how I felt after walking around the zoo for the day!
city and met my friend Jo who I met in Sri Lanka. I met her son Bobby who's 21st Birthday was on the 16th happy birthday Bobby and met his lovely girlfriend Toni and we had a few birthday drinks before they went off to have a meal up the sky tower (amazing view up there, just had a cheeky peek). I spent the night with Jo and on Wednesday we did the whole tourist thing. We went to St.Mary's Cathedral, and then down to the harbour and into the minus five bar (as it sounds it's minus five degrees and you just go in for half an hour and have a cocktail). We had lunch in the harbour and then walked back up into the main part of the city. We made our way to Darling Harbour and then back to George Street. The Queen Victoria Building on George Street has to be my favorite it is stunning and at the moment contains the most amazing Christmas tree I've ever seen it's quite magical.
After all this we needed a sit down and went to see the film Australia which I really enjoyed, followed by a stroll up to Hyde Park and a sit down with a cuppa, enjoying the last rays of sun in the day. I then had to pop back to the hotel pick up my bags and catch my train at 8.30pm for my next destination. Bobby and Toni came to say goodbye which was really sweet thanks guys! It was a brief time with Jo but I only say goodbye to her for a week as we meet up again on the 24th which I'm looking forward to already. Anyway onto the next chapter. k


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

No we didn't pop back to EnglandNo we didn't pop back to England
No we didn't pop back to England

Dressed for the ice bar
Toni,Bobby and JoToni,Bobby and Jo
Toni,Bobby and Jo

Saying bye at central station


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb