Oz Adventures part two..


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
December 20th 2008
Published: December 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Brief Run Around Melbourne




Arriving pretty tired on the overnight train from Sydney (which incidentally I thought was really good value and a great way to get here) I trundled up the road to my next hotel. At this point all I really wanted to do was hop into bed and have a snooze but as I was only here for a couple of days a shower was all it took to get me out on the road and exploring the streets of Melbourne. I walked around some of the more quirky streets first, Smith street and Brunswick and had a spot of lunch. I saw some fantastic architectural buildings and sat for a while in Fitzroy Gardens enjoying the sunshine and the rest. In the park was Cook's Cottage, it was built and owned by Captain James Cook's parents. It was originally built in 1775 and shipped over from England, piece by piece in 1933. It was a lovely little cottage with a tiny cottage garden and made me feel like I was back in England for a while. I felt even more at home when I looked inside the Fitzroy garden's conservatory which housed the most gorgeous collection of hydrangeas I've ever seen.
My second day I started by going up the Rialto tower 253metres to see the view of the city from a higher perspective. I then went to the aquarium. Here were the usual sharks, all sorts of fish and the like but the highlight for me were the King and Gentoo penguins in an arctic setting which are so cute and have that want to take one home thing about them, don't worry customs will not let me. After this I had a walk along the Yarra Promenade by the riverside and then came back, past the great sight of the Flinders street station towards the city centre.
I did a bit of browsing in the shops and the locals are spoilt for choice with the shops on offer here I could of done some damage on the old flexible friend but I managed to be good.
I loved my brief time in Melbourne and found it really friendly and relaxed and one of those places you feel safe and at home very easily. I am however looking forward to some open spaces and am keen to get out of the cities at some point soon.
So it's bye to Melbourne and back on a train, off to Adelaide next!! x



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



20th December 2008

Melbourne Moments
Well, Another day, another City. Looks like Melbourne has your vote for a visitor-friendly city, a good blend of buildings and open spaces. Sounds like you enjoyed every moment and walked your socks off. We are sure you will enjoy Adelaide too, especialy meeting up with good friends again. We know you will be looking forward to your Adelaide/Perth adventure. Lots of love, Mum and Dad

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb