We Got Here!!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
December 11th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Week In Hong Kong



Well we made it to Hong Kong. After a few hours on a bus, a boat journey to the island of Langkawi and then a flight to Kuala Lumpur we were then in Malaysia. Our flight to Hong Kong wasn't until the following morning and without anywhere to stay, (the room we had booked into was just for transit passengers so we were not allowed to stay there) and the airport hotel being two hundred pounds a night we had no choice but to order a bottle of wine and eat cheese and biscuits in the posh airport lounge. A couple of bottles and four hours later we finally boarded our plane.
We got the airport express train from the airport to Hong Kong Island where home was a friend of a friends flat in the mid-levels area. This proved to be a lovely residential area and a perfect location in a quiet area within walking distance of all the main areas and transportation sites, ferries to Kowloon and the other islands. I loved the star ferry it is such a great way to get between the islands and at 20p a trip is a bargain and a fabulous way to see both the main islands by day and especially by night with the high rises all lit up.
We had a fabulous week. We went shopping, although we did a lot of looking as some of the malls were for the very wealthy people who came off the cruise ships that dock into Kowloon and the many wealthy people who live here....mmm ok, so I did buy a couple of items, well you need to treat yourself now and again.
We went up to the peak one day and saw the view of Hong Kong from up there. I never realised just how mountainous Hong Kong was and how many hills there are to climb just to get your groceries.
One night we had cocktails on a roof terrace which was beautiful and the decorated trees around us and the chilly night air made it truly feel like Christmas, magical.
We ate dim sum high up in an office block over looking Hong Kong Island. Unfortunately we had little idea of what we were ordering and so we had various prawn dishes covered in slime, not the best dim sum I have eaten but one of the best views.
One afternoon we took tea at the Peninsula a very high class hotel with a string quartet and gorgeous Christmas decorations everywhere and doormen dressed all in white with little white caps on. It was very colonial and really felt like we were stepping back in time. The first time we tried to go in we were turned away as we were wearing flip flops! So this time, both wearing new shoes, we were able to enjoy the experience.
Overall I loved Hong Kong and would say it was worth the journey to get there! Happily the journey out was a little simpler. All the protesters have moved out of Bangkok airport and services resumed last Friday so we were able to fly back on Sunday and stayed overnight in Bangkok. Monday was time for myself and Nicky to part company. We have been together for over seven weeks and had a great time and I hope she has a fabulous time in Koh Samui, her next stop for two weeks before she returns to England in time for Christmas. Safe travels Nicky!!
As for me I boarded my plane on Monday for a whole new continent and my last country on my list, Australia. It feels really strange at this point coming to the last chapter. I'm a little travel tired but after a rest and a couple of days to settle in I shall be ready to go forth and explore! I had a few odd days at the beginning of the week as I had a nasty allergic reaction to something (no idea what?) Because of this I traveled like a film star with my shades on to protect my eyes from bright lights and so I didn't frighten small children. Unfortunately it knocked me back a bit and I spent the first day in my hotel room. Still give it time and I'll be right as rain, here's looking forward to the beginning of the end!! x


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



11th December 2008

Wow!!
Sounds like you are having a wonderful time, and from you descriptions it feels like we are there with you!!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb