One Night at the Opera House


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

19/10/2008

Last night was insane. I took the opportunity to do something i would never normally do...see a performance.

I managed to wangle myself a ticket orginally priced at $99 for $49.50. The show was called 'Absolutely British' and consisted of a choir, orchestra and some opera singers, playing classical music from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

The best part was near the end when they did Land of Hope and Glory and everyone was chucking balloons and ribbon around whilst waving flags, like the last night of the proms. (you would be jealous Dad) haha. I actually enjoyed myself 100 times more than i thought i would.

The weather the last few days has been perfect so the dasy before last i went up the Sydney Tower and observed some views. I could see the Sydney Cricket Ground and another big stadium right next door which i have yet to fnd out what it is. There was the Olympic Park in the distance and the Blue Mountains even further away, could see for miles!

.........

I was going to go to the beach today but woke up too late so ill probably go when i return later in the year. Kings Cross is full of weird people, its so funny. I have yet to be bitten by bed bugs or snakes and spiders. I'm currently living off cornflakes, soup and pasta although i did have an amazing $10 steak last night with mash and veg. Trying to ration myself as it would be so very easy to eat my way through the city like a termite. There was some guy squarking two nights ago and rocking back and forward by a tree just outside the hostel. Found it very hard not to burst out laughing. Met a hardcore traveller from Tasmania, he hitchhikes and looks like he has been living in the woods for the last century. Carlos Tevez is still around. Goon party last night on the second floor. Its all good.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb