My last day in Australia...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 22nd 2005
Published: August 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

When I woke up this morning I still didn’t know it would be my last day. I read my book and I had breakfast and at 9AM I called El-Al to check if I can get an earlier flight than next week. The only available one was tomorrow. Then I called Cathay Pacific and after waiting maybe 15 minutes on the line I found out that they have availability as well. So, yes, I booked those two flights and suddenly I realized: this was my last day in Sydney, in Australia and Down Under, in the Southern Hemisphere!
So in this special event I finally went to do the Sydney Opera House tour. I postponed it for too long, it’s the last opportunity. The building is really beautiful from inside, even if its glory and fame come from the external design. The guide told us also about the history of the construction of this massive project, and I found one thing really interesting from Israeli point of view. She told us that the house was finally opened (after 14 years of construction) in 20/10/1973, playing the Prokofiev's War and Peace. In Israel we were in the middle of the Yom Kippur war at that day, but that horrible war lead to the peace with Egypt. So here, at the other side of the world, they foresaw that…

After the tour I went for some last shopping, Aussie clothes and Aussie souvenirs, and a last visit to the beautiful Darling Harbour. One of the shops there is the Northern Territories outback shop, and I found just by chance that they had a didgeridoo concert at 5PM. It was a really nice way to mark the farewell from Australia, with some didg music and behind it a slide show with pictures from the beautiful places in NT. I can’t believe I’ve been in all this places! And I will miss them.

That night I went out again with my room 605 mates, Nicola, Carol and Francesca. We met again some other guys (the bar is in the hostel so you see the same people again and again and it's nice). We had lots to drink, we danced, had lots of fun. At 2AM the bar was closed and there was no point to go to sleep because my wake up call was set to 4:15AM. Luckily for me everybody felt like going on dancing, so we went to another place. It was an exciting way to end my Aussie experience, dancing and drinking all night long.
And at 5AM Tuesday morning I took the shuttle to the airport…

Going home...



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Paul had an interesting T-Shirt...Paul had an interesting T-Shirt...
Paul had an interesting T-Shirt...

If that's the great British pastime, no wonder so many British girls go to OZ


1st September 2005

Thanks for the blog!!
Hello Anat, We have never met and are never likely to, but i just wanted to say thanks for the blog. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts and they have helped to cheer me up whilst i sit behind my desk in England. I hope you decide to carry on blogging wherever you go. Take care, Tim...
1st September 2005

Thanks for the blog!!
Hello Anat, We have never met and are never likely to, but i just wanted to say thanks for the blog. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts and they have helped to cheer me up whilst i sit behind my desk in England. I hope you decide to carry on blogging wherever you go. Take care, Tim...
1st September 2005

Thanks for the blog memories
Hello Anat, We have never met and probably never will, however i wanted to thank you for cheering me up whilst sitting behind my desk in England. I have really enjoyed reading your blog from Oz and looking at your photos. I have been to Oz twice myself and long to go back. Please continue to blog wherever you are. Take care, Tim...

Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.06s; cc: 18; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb