Cairns - Sydney (if only it was that straight forward)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up, checked out and dumped my stuff off in storage. Had time to kill so went and posted off thestuff I wouldnt need for Asia (its getting expensive posting all this stuff home.)

Than went and grabbed my bags then caught the shuttle bus to the airport.

Arrived at the aeroport only to discover that the stupid woman who'd sorted out my flights had only gotten me a flight to Brisbane!!!!!!! I always check my tickets but with this one for some reason I didnt! I guess it was because I thought this journey was going to be nice and straight forward or something. Anyway managed to book a flight from Brisbane to Sydney and it thankfully didnt cost that much more. Only problem was I was due to be meeting Lindsay tonight and would be cutting it rather fine.
To add more spice to my day there had been some sort of security scare causing airport officials to make everyone leave the departure lounge then go through the security checks again! Lets just say I made it to the plane just as they were making the final boarding calls.

Flew to Brisbane then waited at the airport for a couple of hours before flying to Sydney.

got onto the shuttle to the city centre but was forced to sit there for half an hour until it was half full. So I sat and chatted to this Canadian woman and arogant ex-pat brit who'd correct/undermine me everytime I said something. unfortunatly I was stood corrected on every occasion.

Made it into town and to the Wake up! hostel. Went to pick up my new Debit card my mum had kindly posted for me only to discover she'd sent me a large box full of sweets, chocolates, a book, 2 T-shirts, a card with photos of all the family plus the credit card. Oh Mum!

Dumped all the stuff off then ran to the bar I was due to be meeting Lindsay (and as it turned out Denise). I was about half an hour late.

Had a drink and a good laugh. Checked out the live band upstairs before parting ways. The girls had work and Uni and I had my bed to go to.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb