last day in Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Slept in nice and late.

Had breaky then left the hostel to go and do a bit of souvenir shopping.
I'd seen a digeridoo (is that how you spell it - nope) I liked in shop down the main high street. I knew it was a terribly touristy thing to do, but it was something about them (the beautifully polished wood with the addision of Aboriginal art incorperated) that made me think "that would look cool hung on my wall!" Besides I was starting to like Aboriginal art. It only consists of coloured dots put together to form nice patterns and animals. I liked the simplicity yet effectivness (in story telling and simbolism) of it. Found the one I wanted, which had the added bonus of being bent and twisted (unlike the others which were dead straight). Got the shop to post it home for me.

Later went to go get some lunch.

It was incredibly hot today. I was sweating bucket loads. So I headed back to the hostel to repack my bag and start working out what I needed for Thailand. this consisted of putting to one side things such as jumpers to post home.

My fellow Dorm mates had been out on the booze last night with their new boss (straight after the interview) so they were lounging around the room watching dvds off the laptop.

Chatted to them for abit before heading downstairs to do laundry.

Not too sure where the time had gone but before long the sun had set (still incredibly muggy) and I was starting to get hungry again.

Went downstairs to the bar/cafe for a cheap bite and to check out what was going on. Not much, the live band was doing its sound checks and a couple of guys were playing pool.

Went aand watched a bit of tv or more notably the simpsons double bill (which always attracts a large crowd.) The TV room was soo hot!

Went back to th room to finish packing and discovered everyone had gone to bed. It was still early so I went for a wonder down town. Town was rather dead but I maanaged to find a small night market, so spent some time in there.

Headed back watch a bit more TV then went to bed.





Advertisement



5th May 2007

Unlike the spelling on the rest of this blog, you only left one letter out of didgeridoo. Zing =-)

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb