The Great Barrier Reef.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Great Barrier Reef
April 30th 2007
Published: April 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Had an excellent night sleep. Helped by everyone else having gone to bed at 11:00. Out of respect I packed my stuff and left the room as quietly as possible unlike a couple of days ago where I made as much noise as possible to teach the B*#st*#ds a lesson (didnt leave until I heard at least a couple of "huffs" of discontent).

got picked up outside the hostel and then got driven down to the boat. Had a nice big group doing the trip out to the great barrier reef. I was only originally down to do some snorkelling but I manage to sign up for an introductory dive then lied on my medical form.

It was an excellent day, really sunny and the sea was soo calm.

We reached our destination and we were the first ones to be going in. I have to say I was a little nervous to start off with. The kit was heavy and constricting and it felt like once we dived in we'd sink to the bottom.

Anyway I dived in and followed the instructors instructions and past his small test underwater (how to clear your mask of
Found NemoFound NemoFound Nemo

Red and Black A'nemo'ne fish - Amphierion melanopus
water and spending a second without your mouth piece)
It was a truly amazing experience!! Breathing under cristal clear water amongest beautifull reefs. Probably the best thing I've done on my travels so far. In fact got a little carried away and got a small slapped wrist for being overconfident. I went deeper then I was allowed and almost lost my instructor by scampering off after some fishes with my camera.
After a while it was time to get back (unfortunatly) on the boat. Quickley went back in with my snorkel gear which wasnt so good after having dived. At one point I forgot I was snorkelling and dived underwater then tried to breath through my snorkel. I swallowed alot of sea water that morning.

Went back to the boat and had a nice buffet lunch.

We then sailed off to our next diving point and I signed up again (screw the cost you only live once). Again another excellent experience. But this time for some reason I had to resurface and head back to the boat 5 minutes before everone else. This was because I had almost run out of oxygen. Obviously been breathing too heavily.
Anyway
Loads of Yellow DamselsLoads of Yellow DamselsLoads of Yellow Damsels

Pomaceatrus Molulcensis
back on the boat I though "its only 5 minutes" but in that time the rest of the group had found a turtle. This incredibly sucked as I would have loved to have taken a photo of that!

Anyway afterwards we headed back to Cairnes. I quickley went down to the camera shop to get my photos put on CD and am now in the Internet cafe trying to put my photos on this blog!

Dont know what Im doing tonight as I cant read the future, but if its half as interesting as the rest of today I'll add it tomorrow.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Me snorkellingMe snorkelling
Me snorkelling

idiotus exhabitionistion


1st May 2007

Liar
Naughty, Naughty! Also, I always had you down as a heavy breather.
17th May 2007

Hiya Jason! Have been reading your blog with massive amounts of envy and taking notes as where to and not to go! Your diving photos are brilliant, glad you're having a great time!

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb